Contest Entry by @sampu | SIZ Contest | Visit My Hometown | A Visit to Victoria Memorial Kolkata (India)

in Steem Infinity Zone3 years ago

Hello my fellow Steemitians of SIZ !! Today, I would like to invite you to visit the Victoria Memorial in Kolkata, my hometown.

IMG_20181110_155618.jpg

This iconic monument is one of the major attraction in Kolkata, as well as India. This architectural marvel is the brainchild of Lord Curzon, the viceroy of British India. It is a memorial of Queen Victoria, which serves as a Art Gallery. The foundation stone was laid by King George V on 1906 and the Memorial Hall was opened for public on 1921.

IMG_20181110_151605.jpg

This This architectural marvel is on a vast land of 57 Acres area at the heart of the city. There are 21 parks of different sizes. It has a collection of 3900 paintings as well as rare photos and manuscripts in the gallery. There are 6 galleries inside the memorial. The galleries are - Royal Gallery, Calcutta Gallery, Durbar Hall Gallery, Entrance Hall Gallery, Potrait Gallery and Queens Hall Gallery.

The gardens are open from 05:30 to 18:15 everyday. The gallery is open from 11:00 to 18:00. The gallery remain closed on Monday and India's national holidays.

IMG_20181110_170111.jpg

There are nice fountains in front of the monument and creates beautiful ambience specially at the afternoon.

In the evening, there are light and sound show that covers the establishment and evolution of the city - the voice over for these light and sound shows are done by famous personalities. You should not miss this light and sound once you visit here. Please plan your visit accordingly.

Lord Curzon always wanted to project this building as "a standing record of our wonderful history". So, I invite you all to visit this memorial as soon as the covid pandemic is over and decide if his wish is fulfilled !!

2018-11-10 15-40-29.JPG

The photographs are clicked using my Huawei Honor 6 mobile. I invite my friend @abhijitmahato and @david9806 to participate this contest.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

Wow, very beautiful and attractive place to visit. Best of luck for the contest 👍

Your entry no is 1

Hello @suboohi, Many thanks for replying in my post. It feels really good when a Moderator comments in a newbie's post. It feels like my efforts are acknowledged here.

Definitely plan a visit to India along with your family, once the pandemic is over. I'm sure you will like Kolkata, the foods, the people and the good vibes. Till then, Stay home, Stay safe.

Thanks once again !!

 3 years ago 

Thanks for your invitation, if life gives me a chance I will definitely visit Kolkata

Thank you for sharing this with us @sampu, your country really has many amazing buildings in the world.

I was wondering why don't you take us in to see how they look inside, but then I remember that we're probably not allowed to bring the camera in, isn't it? or this art gallery was closed due to the Covid-19 pandemic?

Many thanks @cicisaja for reading my post.

You are correct. Photography is allowed only in garden and outside the memorial, but prohibited inside Victoria Memorial and galleries.

Entry to Victoria is currently restricted due to COVID-19 situation. We hope it will re-open once the pandemic is over.

The photographs I shared were clicked on 10-November-2018 by myself using my mobile phone.

you are most welcome @sampu, I really hope the pandemic will soon over and everything will be back to the way it used to be and better.

about your pictures, I think it's fine as long as you took them yourself and I can see you're there too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59391.37
ETH 2525.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47