Happy Caturday From Curator Cat! Let's Talk About Pet Health!

in Fur-friends3 years ago

Greetings fine Felines and Hoomans of Steemlandia, and particularly the re-imagined Fur-friends Community!

It's the weekend, once again and that means Caturday, my favorite day of the week! This is the day when the whole Internet shares cat and kitten pictures in honor of the web's "informal mascot," cats!

CC0006-Portrait.jpg
Aren't I regal?

Curator Cat 007 — Verified by Fur-Friends

I'm happy to say that I have been "verified" by the re-developed Fur-friends community, and interestingly enough with the member number "007," so maybe I am no the James Bond of cats?

Anyway, I am happy to see the community get going again after some "bumpy" times... we really need a pet community here on Steemit, particularly as part of strengthening the volume of non-crypto type content here that would appeal to a broader base of potential new members.

So if you're a pet/cat lover... head on over to Fur-friends and get yourself verified, and support the community!

CC0148-OnChair1.jpg
Wait! I see a bird outside...

Fur-Friends Contest: Let's Talk About Pet Health!

Well, I haven't actually been part of a contest on Steemit since some of the "newbie support" contests back in 2008, but I'll have a go at this community contest about Pet Health and taking care of furry companions!

FilterTree

Bathing and Feeding

Well, as a cat, I don't really "do" baths! The Hoomans gave me a bath once because I got into some liquid laundry detergent... and I hated it, even though I know it had to be done so I wouldn't ingest the soap.

As for food, I get lots of good stuff. In the morning and evening I get half a small can of "fancy" cat food... I really like the "stinky/fishy" varieties.

Aside from that, I always have access to my self-dispensing dry cat food kibble container, and I like to "graze" on a bit here and there, as the day goes by.

Speaking of "grazing," sometimes the Hoomans will bring me back a small container of oat grass from the market... we cats do like to nibble on green stuff now and then!

They also grow catmint for me, in the garden!

FilterTree

Drugs and Health Checks

Thankfully, I am in good health! With the exception of getting very ill when I was a 10-week old kitten, the only times we have been to the vet have been for annual check-ups.

Because I live indoors as a housecat, we don't have an issue with fleas, so I am largely drug-free.

As a fully-grown cat, all I have to have is a rabies "booster shot" every three years! The next one is due in about another year and a bit.

Otherwise, at the annual checkups with the vet it's just a "general wellness" check.

CC0009-Eating.jpg
At my large food dish upstairs! This is also dry cat food.

Play and Exercise

It is often said that in the world of cats "The best toys are always free!"

That's also true here at our house. My favorite toys are the many boxes the Hoomans get in the mail because they run their businesses from home, and I don't think a box has yet been invented that is not interesting to a cat!

FilterTree

I get plenty of exercise running up and down my "cat pole," which is an old innertube from wall-to-wall carpeting that has been tightly wrapped with rope.

The Hoomans have tried to entice me with a variety of jingle balls and feathered toys on strings... but my preference tends to be twistie ties from garbage bags and wadded up balls of paper, which I will chase endlessly, all over the house and up and down the stairs!

Sometimes the Dad-Hooman will attach one of the wadded up pieces of paper to a string and we play chase around the house with it. He likes to call it "cat fishing!" I'm not sure how amused I am by that...

CC0013-OnChaise.jpg
Watching the world from a nice soft spot is a good thing...

The only "purchased" toy I really like is a small bean-bag like pillow filled with catnip that the Hoomans bought for me at a crafts fair.

And that's about it, for this time around... now you know a little more about how I live, from day to day!

Meanwhile, thanks for stopping by, and have a great remainder of your weekend!

=^..^=

X-062/361 2021-07-17

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Wow, I love this cat. You are really being taken care of and that is why do don't often get sick. I am glad to meet you and to read about your health

 3 years ago 

Thank you! We have a pretty good life here.

=^..^=

Hello dear @curatorcat, Your post is very good. You can also check my posts. My posts are also very good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83