SEC-S8W5. "I missed the idea!"

Hello everyone, welcome to my post. In this post, I will be participating in the engagement challenge titled "I missed the idea!"


Have you ever been saying something and forgot what you were talking about, what happened?


6E98E77F-B391-4FC3-B796-613989764D4C.png
Image source

Yes I have in several occasions. The last I
remember was that it happened to me again yesterday. A group of my friends came over to my place and we were talking and gisting about a lot of things. Firstly, our country Nigeria, politics, school, relationships and so much more. Then we started talking about school and how bad the school system in Nigeria is currently because of the whole ASUU strike situation that turns out to always happen yearly.

I remember talking and trying to emphasize on the year 2020 when we had both the ASUU strike situation and COVID 19 then one of my friends interrupted me and tried to chip in his own point. When he was done talking then it was over to me to say something, I paused and for a moment, I was trying to recall what we were even talking about in the first place😂.

Then all my friends started laughing at me and at that point I felt so ashamed because it seemed as if I wasn’t even listening to what my other friend was saying. It was actually a very funny but unpleasant moment and this was because of how I was actually struggling to remember what I wanted to say before I was interrupted.


When you have been asked a question that you know, but at the moment of answering you got confused, how do you respond?


3F28FD2A-9A3F-4CAF-BFD1-BD9077289F33.jpeg
Image source

Firstly, I start trying to calm myself down because at that point i start to panick. I breath in and out and try as much as possible to recite that question continuously in my head and even go as far as repeating the last few words then coming up with an example that will actually give me a hint on what the correct answer is about. The example usually serves as a form of explanation that gives me a guide on what the real answer actually is.


Do you always remember your ideas and everything you have to do, or do have to take notes?


2819114F-9B56-410E-9C1E-ECB89A8D872B.jpeg
Image source

I don’t always remember my ideas or things that I have to do off hand and that is why i always write them down in my note app because I tend to forget them especially when series of events play out during the course of the day and things turn out to be quite overwhelming. My note app usually serves as a guide because I can easily go back to it to recall the things I actually plan to do incase I forget.

Take notes of ideas and things that I’m supposed to do actually put me at ease and makes me to be on track each day. I try as much as possible to document things that I have to do each day in it and also major points that were taught in classes, workshops or seminars that I attend. I even go as far as writing down points that I read in a book or listened in an audio book or podcast so that whenever I want to apply those ideas, it will be very easy for me to access them.


When you answer a question , do you repeat the question as part of your answer?


Yes I do. This is because it actually gives me a guide on how to compose the answer to the question and it also helps me to not be left speechless.


Has anything curious or serious ever happened because you forgot what you were supposed to say?


6519B53D-F1E4-4685-9119-B7C0E32DC96C.png
Image source

Yes it has. I can remember one faithful day when my father travelled for work and it was just I ,my siblings and my mother that were at home then my mother wanted to leave for work that morning then she instructed me to tell my elder sister to take the money she left on the table and go to the market and buy 10 litres of fuel that we will use to put in the generator because the fuel in the generator won’t serve us that night.

I went to my elder sister’s room to take her phone and play game at that moment I felt like there was something I was supposed to tell her but I couldn’t remember it at that moment. Then my mother came back late in the night and noticed that the generator wasn’t turned on and there was no light in our neighborhood then she asked my older siblings why we didn’t turn on the generator then my elder sister said that there was no fuel in the generator and she didn’t leave any money for her to use and buy fuel to put in the generator.

My mother was so furious and barged inside my room and asked me why I didn’t tell my sister what she instructed me to tell her then I replied with the sentence “I forgot😬” . My siblings and my mother were so angry at me that night and it was already too late to go to a fuel station and buy fuel. We had to stay in darkness throughout the night and my mother told me that I will be the one to go to the fuel station and buy fuel the next day.

Thanks for reading

I will like to invite @josepha, @simonnwigwe, and @dave-hanny to join in this contest.

Sort:  

Hahaha, the last paragraph of your article sounds funny. I can understand the scenario that played out. Forgetting to communicate the instruction given in your case was absolutely a case of distraction.

Anyway the side effect and penalty received was quite a low one. We always pray that let incidences of this nature don't cause us fortunes.

Good luck.

😂. it happened many years ago when i was a kid and was too small to go to the fuel station alone to buy fuel. Also, those days i was a kid i love playing games so much so it distracted me.
Thanks for stopping by to go through my post.

You are welcome

 last year 

Thank you for inviting me, am working on my entry. Indeed, we can easily forget things since we're not computer. Best of luck to you.

Thank you. We are all humans and it’s part of our nature to forget things sometimes.

hello mate @sir-charles-jude maybe due to a distraction or not being really attentive to a conversation at this moment we can deviate from the subject, talking about something else, that won't be a moment when it gives us something good, but if it is a friend or trusted people It is taken as a moment of jokes and laughter, but later the seriousness of the conversation is resumed, it is worth using notes more when there are many ideas at the moment. good luck friend in the challenge, and many successes.

Yes, when we get distracted or not paying attention to a conversation it might make us say something totally different from the initial topic which might actually sound funny. It’s important to always try to pay attention in a conversation so we can prevent that from happening, incase its a serious business you were talking about and you are not familiar with the people you are talking with, some might not find it funny, they can find it annoying.
Thanks for going through my post.

De nada compañero, es un placer ver tu post y pasar comentando tu contenido. Saludos

Loading...

Hahahha. Forgetting ideas seems to be a general disease. Talking and forgetting what you were saying. Sorry for the embrassment you received from your friends. Is nice to know that writing down our ideas will help. Goodluck my friend.

It’s generally to forget ideas . Everyone has that trait in them. It’s very important to write them down.
Thanks for going through my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48