Steemit Engagement Challenge S5W5 | "My Values."steemCreated with Sketch.

in Scouts y sus Amigos2 years ago
Greetings everyone,
It is another week in the engagement challenge and I'm delighted to also be among those participating. This season in the engagement challenge is indeed a great one because we are allowed to continue the engagement even after the normal four weeks elapsed.


purchase-7307064__480.jpg
Source

To me, it is indeed a privilege for all communities involved in season 5. It is on this that I say a very big congratulations once again to the scouting community. There are lots of interesting contests too for this season's engagement and this week we are also looking at a powerful one with the title My Values. I will be attempting the questions below as a sign of my participation.

mine.PNG

Why are values important in society?

mine.PNG

Before I tell us reasons why values are important in society, I will love to draw our attention to the meaning of value. Values in a simple terms refer to the standard we used when evaluating anything or anyone. When we have a particular standard such as honesty, justice, peace etc, that we use to evaluate people or situations we call that values.

With that being said, the importance of values in our society can not be over-emphasized because every society needs peace, justice, honest people, generous people etc. When we have all these virtues in people or any situation we are certain that everyone within the society will be in safe hands.

When there are values in a society, such a community will always have much growth because everyone within the society will be his or her brother's keeper. People with values within a given society will always sort out ways to ensure that everyone is happy and that no one goes to bed with an empty stomach.

mine.PNG

What do you consider to be the values that define you?

mine.PNG

Everyone has some key values that define them. In my case, there are a few values that define me totally and these values include generosity, justice and peacemaker.

Generosity


refugees-1020255__480.webp
Source

One of the greatest values I have is generosity. Permit me to use the sentence "I'm a giver". A lot of people today are attracted to me because of the generosity I do. I have always tried to ensure that in my daily activities I render a helping hand to all those who need assistance both in kind or in cash. My generosity is not just in the physical world, I also extended it to the virtual world where I always try to give little in token or a guide to steemians to enable them to do better.

Justice


quality-7279628__480.png
Source

Another value of mine that is dear to me is justice. I don't do favouritism hence I give credit to who so ever deserves it. In my little time as a curator, I guess a lot of steemians can testify because I vote on the only quality post that meets the team standard and I only select quality posts that stood out among others as my best pick.

Peacemaker

I'm a peacemaker and also sort out ways to fix any troubling situation around me or in my society. I don't like having issues with people and for that reason, I always ensure I speak to people politely and in a friendly manner.

mine.PNG

In what circumstances of your day do you apply them?

mine.PNG

I apply these values daily. I do not wait for circumstances to surface before applying these values because it is part of me already and I always try to ensure that daily I do them all to touch the lives of as many in my society. Whenever I see people around me happy, I feel fulfilled because they are happy and whenever I see anyone suffering I try to put a smile on their faces as well.

mine.PNG

What are the anti-values that you have witnessed the most?

mine.PNG

The anti-values I have witnessed most are injustice and selfishness. In every society, you will always find people who are selfish and unjust in their dealings and that make a lot of people suffer the most. As a person just person, I can't stand injustice and selfishness because it corrupts my values as a person. I always speak out when I weakness such and in most cases those involved change in the end.

mine.PNG

Do you think values change or go out of style?

mine.PNG

Values can change because they are qualities and most times since they are not inborn, they are things we learn via constant practice hence they can be changed for good or bad depending on the situation. People with anti-value can learn from people with good values and then make an adjustment and probably become better people in life. Others can also change because of situations they find their selves.

mine.PNG

Conclusion

mine.PNG

Values are standards that we use when evaluating people. These standards can be peace, honesty, justice, generosity etc. With values, society can be a better place because we will all look out for one another. I want to finally invite my friends @yakspeace, @goodybest and @badmus-official to also join this wonderful contest.

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 years ago 

Me parece perfecta la manera en la que explicas el significado de los "valores" y es que sin duda esta serie de características le dan un mayor valor a una persona, y son importante para que una sociedad pueda crecer, ya que habrá armonía entre las persona, respeto, tolerancia, equidad y justicia.

Sin embargo, aun se hacen presente los antivalores y se cometen actos de egoísmo, traición, engaños, injusticias y corrupción en nuestro entorno, es por ello que tenemos la responsabilidad de enseñarle la importancia a nuestros niños y jóvenes de comportarse adecuadamente y ser buenas personas.

Values increases the growth of a community and it makes people in to work as a team. You have written well about the topic. Best of luck to you sir.

 2 years ago 

Generoso, justo y pacífico son rasgos esenciales que contribuyen al crecimiento personal y al de la sociedad en general. A partir de ellos se generan otros valores que se conjugan entre sí para que su proceder se desenvuelva, atendiendo a los preceptos que armonizan la realidad, el mundo. Pero creo que los valores no cambian, no sufren alteraciones; ocurre que los seres humanos somos propensos a desvirtuar lo que existe cuando tendemos a crear condiciones que solo nos benefician a nosotros, cuando algún antivalor nos asalta... Éxitos y saludos, amigo...

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @dsc-r2cornell. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

Our values form an integral part of our lifestyle hence determine our personalities. Good luck to you sir on this contest.

Greetings friend...

When there are values in a society, such a community will always have much growth because everyone within the society will be his or her brother's keeper.

Values are to increase the growth of our community as without Values, we will live a chaotic life without any direction.

I must say I love your life values. You have written exceptionally well about the topic. Best of luck to you sir.

You did a great job,your entry is a good one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77