SEC-S10W2| My Languages

AddText_06-14-12.15.21.jpgimage source

Hello friends!!

We meet again this week with an interesting topic to discuss..Are you ready to read my book views about languages?

A Language is a means by which people communicate to one another. Language unites people because they understand themselves better.

I know how to speak 4 languages. And they include Igbo, Hausa, Youruba and English.

Igbo language is my naive language. It is a means of communication for the Igbo natives of the eastern parts of Nigeria.

Igbo language is a very interesting and deep language. Every Igbo speaking tribe has a way they speak their own Igbo and this is one of the interesting things about Igbo language.

As I grew older I saw Igbo language as my own, my parents used it at home to communicate with us and that was how I knew how to speak Igbo.

Hausa language is spoken by the northern parts of Nigeria. And I learnt how to speak it by association. Even though am Igbo and from the east, I was born in the northern part of Nigeria were one of their languages spoken is Hausa.

seniors-1505936_1280.jpgsource

The school were I attended, one of the selective subjects are the 3 major languages of Nigeria which are Igbo, Hausa and Youruba. Students are to chose one. So I chose Hausa since am Igbo and already knew how to speak it. So by association and schooling I learned how to speak Hausa.

For Youruba language, I learnt how to speak it by observations and association. After my studies, I moved to the western part of my country where Youruba is their native language.

So living amongst the Youruba indigenous people made me learn how to speak their language. When I go to the market, I hear them speak Youruba not minding if you understood them or not, in the buses, you hear them speaking it. Didn't have a choice than paying more attention to the language.

Gradually, I started observing and asking questions and I started attempting to speak Youruba.

English language is the common language spoken in my country. It is also taught in schools as a major subject. I learned how to speak English in school.

From the primary schools to the university, English is taught and a major subject. Infact in the Nigerian universities there is a course known as English and linguistics

Generally, I love learning new things including languages. So in addition to the 4 languages I know how to speak. The languages I would like to learn are Spanish and Zulu languages.

Zulu a language spoken in south Africa. I love how it sounds when spoken as I have seen In movies. Also Spanish is a language I constantly see here on steemit and I constant use my Google translator to translate it to English.

zulu-631048_1280.jpgZulu woman sourcetractor-3241815_1280.jpgSpanish people source

The most difficult thing about learning other languages is the first stage of trying to understand what the words mean then the second stage of trying to pronounce the words and the last stage of making a sentence and conversing in that language

I remember when I was trying to learn Hausa language growing up. A friend I had who was an indigene of the Hausa speaking language. She would laugh at my pronouciation and ask me what I wanted to say. So she would finally tell me the right one. It was a difficult moment for me pronouncing it.

students-1822449_1280.jpgspeaking a language source

Same situation when I was learning to speak Youruba language too. Understanding it was the first stage, then trying to speak it followed. Sometimes you know what you want to say in your mind but saying it is a problem. Hahah..

For me it is important to master several languages because you might never know where you would be in future.

I had an uncle many years ago who knew how to speak french language. At that time he was working with a car company, a foreign company.
Then one day, the manager put up an annoyance in the company saying there was an opening abroad, but it's for only for anyone who can speak french fluently.

No one knew how to speak french in the company except my uncle. That was how my uncle was taking out of Nigeria, given a better job opportunity to manage a branch abroad.

It is also important to master many languages in other to fit into certain cities, countries or continent. Many years ago after my school, o was posted to the northern part of my country to go and do a one year compulsory youth service. When I saw my posting letter, I was not afraid or panicked because I already knew how to speak Hausa.

Other corp members posted along side with me to the north didn't like it because they could not fit in because they didn't understand the language. They felt left out especially when they saw me having a conversation with the indigenes.

Learning other languages makes those you have learnt their languages feel accepted by you. It makes them feel loved and special.

Lastly learning other languages makes conversation easier, interesting and beautiful.

Let me invite some friends to tell me what they thing about languages.

@pandora2010
@liasteem
@ikwal

Sort:  
 last year 

Sepertinya bahasa Igbo menarik dan saya ingin mendengar bahasa indah itu secara langsung, semoga Kita sukses di kontes minggu ini saudari

Yes Igbo language is very interested..Don't worry whenever you visit Nigeria, I would not mind to teach you.

Thanks for your support

 last year 

Semoga kita bisa bertemu suatu hari nanti saudari

 last year 

Wow, your friend has a unique language, there are hundreds of thousands of languages in this world, and the language in Nigeria is one of a kind, and this is the first time I have heard these languages...
Good luck dear... 🤗😘

Wow your first time?
Well I can't wait to teach you this languages as they are so easy to learn..

 last year 

May be you can teach us in the community... 👍🤗

Hahahahah..it will be a pleasure

Hello,
Language is very important in life because it is one of the first stages used when first meeting new people.

Your writing is very good. Good luck

Yes you are right!
Languages make communication easy.

Thank you so much

Loading...

Wow such an interesting language. Igbo language. I want to learn about that language if there are opportunity. Keep it up mate. Ur post is awesome 👍🏻👍🏻

Thank you for your beautiful words..
I don't mind teaching you Igbo language for free..Just visit Nigeria and you would learn it. Hahah

 last year 

Me parece muy bueno que hables 4 idiomas esto te permite comunicarte con diversos tipos de personas en tu país y fuera de el, ya que el inglés es un idioma universal y esto es un gran recurso tanto a nivel personal como laboral.

 last year 

Wooaaoo eres diversa en el dominio de tus idiomas, el nativo y tres más es muy buena reputación al respecto. Y tienes mucha razón, cuando pueden entender los idiomas de otros ellos se sienten aceptados. Saludos cordiales y éxito en tu entrada.

Hola mi bella amiga.

Cómo estás? que gusto leer tu participación y saber que eres una persona bilingüe, hablar cuatro idiomas ha de ser una tarea bien difícil sin embargo lo has hecho muy bien y no conforme con eso quiere seguir estudiando porque comprendes exactamente la importancia que tiene saber varios idiomas.

Estoy muy feliz de leer que te gustaría aprender el español ya que ese es mi idioma nativo Y de verdad que es muy interesante y te deseo buena suerte espero que puedas estudiarlo muy pronto y puedas hablarlo con fluidez, por aquí tienes una amiga que podría ayudarte en tus clases je je je

Así es que, buena suerte y éxitos para ti

Hahaha am very pleased to know that you can help me out in my journey to learn Spanish..

So when would we begin? Hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65160.59
ETH 3545.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43