SEC - Season 5, Week 3: My favorite celebration of the year.

in Scouts y sus Amigos2 years ago (edited)



Christmas!


Christmas, is the day on which Christians remember the birth of Christ, the son of God. A day to commemorate God's love for his children.

It is also a day celebrated by millions of people around the world from other religions for different reasons. A time for homes to be decorated, with good wishes, and jubilant moods.

Christmas, the time for…

🎄Thankfulness – Time to go on your knees and say thank you!

🎄Joyfulness - It is a season filled with positive energy and holiday spirit

🎄Family love - It is a time to honor family love, spending time together

🎄Selflessness - The time to forget yourself and think about others

🎄Giving - It is about experiencing the joy of giving

🎄Treasure - A day to treasure what is truly important to us

Christmas, for us is a day for prayers, cookies and milk, full stockings, kissing under the mistletoe, treats, plenty of hugs, and laughter.

And now I cannot get the song, out of my head!


We wish you a merry Christmas
We wish you a merry Christmas
We wish you a merry Christmas…

On 25 December 1970, on Christmas Day, the Lord took our beloved uncle from us. It was a day mourned by the whole family and also a day that put a damper on the spirit of Christmas.
I can remember how my aunt got all quiet each Christmas Day. I can remember the special hugs she got from all of us and I can remember the smile she gave us which never reached her eyes.

On 25 December 1987 and Christmas Day got a new meaning for us.

Our daughter, granddaughter, sister, niece, and biggest friend was born on this day. The Lord gave us a bundle of joy! The missing gap in our family was filled.

The sadness in my aunt's eyes disappeared. For her, my uncle relived in this new Christmas baby.

I gave birth to Tamsin in the early hours of the morning. She was born 7 weeks too early weighing only 1,2 kg. A fighter she was and still is. I have never met anyone like her, a ray of sunshine who is loved by so many. From the autistic children, she teaches, to the eldest of family and friends. Everybody just enjoys and loves her.

This year we mark 35 years in not only celebrating God sending His son to die for our sins but also the joy of having her in our lives.

Our Christmas celebrations changed. We bought Tamsin a candle for her first birthday. We go to the midnight church service where this candle is lit for the duration of the service. Getting back home after church only she is allowed to open her birthday presents.

Lunchtime is family time. If I say family time I mean FAMILY. Anybody who is family is welcome. Each year we have a special theme and we all contribute food in line with the theme. It is a time to look around you and to be thankful and appreciate what you have. A time to laugh, a time to shed a tear or two, and a time to share.

Christmas is coming… I cannot help to wonder what awaits us this year as we are no longer living close to our beloved family. Will we be attending the midnight church service with no candle to light?

image.png

I invite:
@ngoenyi @nadiaturrina @simonnwigwe

Club100
Transfer to vesting: 1,433.394 STEEM
Normal transfer: 22.000 STEEM (Prize for contests)

  • Christmas memories designed with Canva
  • All images my own taken with my iPhone

Sort:  
Loading...

Christmas is one of the most favorite celebration among Christians, on 25th December all Christians in our area celebrate it with great joy, it is really a very interesting festival. Very nice entry. All the best friend @patjewell

 2 years ago 

Awh! Thank you for your visit and your support. ☕
It is appreciated.
Christmas for us is indeed VERY special.

Your moment for enjoyment and laughter is getting near. I'm hoping to join with you in this momentous day. Ha.. ha…

 2 years ago 

Awh thank you my friend.
I cannot wait to see who is going to surprise us with a visit.
(•ิ‿•ิ)

Your article has been supported with a 50% upvote by @afrizalbinalka from Team 2 of the community curator program. We encourage you to keep producing quality content on Steem to enjoy more support from us and a likely spot in our weekly top 7.

20220902_095909_0000.png

 2 years ago 

@afrizalbinalka

Thank you! It is appreciated!

Hello @patjewell, I want to talk to you would you please talk to me.

My telegram - @Toufiqurrahman7

Thanks a lot for the invitation, dear.

Each year we have a special theme and we all contribute food in line with the theme. It is a time to look around you and to be thankful and appreciate what you have. A time to laugh, a time to shed a tear or two, and a time to share.

I like this part of the sentence. Good luck for the contest dear.
🥰🥰🥰

 2 years ago 

Thanks for the visit and the kind words 🎕

 2 years ago 

¡Saludos amiga!

La Navidad es una temporada que siempre nos marca de manera simbólica pero, lo maravilloso de todo es que siempre se mantiene el sentido y amor familiar.

Siento mucho que en su caso, haya quedado marcada la situación con su tío pero, me alegra que luego de sanar esa pérdida irreparable, volvieron a disfrutar la magia de esta fecha.

Un fuerte abrazo amiga... Lluvia de bendiciones

 2 years ago 

Give and take.. in our case, take and give.
Is that not what life is all about?
Thank you for your visit, engagement, and blessings. 🎕

 2 years ago 

Solo Dios pudo hacer ese prodigio de traerles a un ser maravilloso ese día para que olvidaran la tristeza por la pérdida de su tío. La navidad es una fecha mágica, destinada a celebrar el nacimiento del Niño Dios, por ello el Todopoderoso pareció propiciar un acontecimiento que reviviera la dicha que debe reinar en esta época. Éxitos y espero que esta navidad sea una excelente ocasión para festejar.

 2 years ago 

We were indeed blessed to get a "replacement" from our Heavenly Father.
There is always something special in Christmas and I might not be with my family this year but I know it will still be special.
Thank you for the visit and good wishes. It is appreciated!

I cannot get the song, out of my head!

Even though I am not a Christian, it's the same for us as well. There are lot of celebrations here as well. It's a global holiday season.

Our daughter, granddaughter, sister, niece, and biggest friend was born on this day.

Wooo... That's crazy. No wonder, it's joy for your family.

 2 years ago (edited)

Indeed! It was and is still a special day.
Thinking back, I can remember getting a special breakfast in the hospital. Visits from local newspaper.. gifts.
Now that only happens to you once in a life time! (•ิ‿•ิ)
PS: My brother lives in Thailand. He is also Buddhist.

 2 years ago 

Hola amiga también me gusta la navidad, las cenas, las fiestas... Santa Claus obsequiando y divirtiendo a los niños...

 2 years ago 

I suppose deep down we are all still children.
Thank you for the visit!
PS: I hope you have written your letter to Santa.🎅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60216.66
ETH 2326.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48