SEC S5W4 / "Reflection of the Day in the Diary Game."

in Scouts y sus Amigos2 years ago



My diary

Hi there!

The last time I marked your pages it was 77 days to Christmas, 7 days until the Cricket World Cup, and 78 days until the visit of my daughter and her kids.

Guess what? It is now…

➜ 49 days until it is Christmas!
➜ 7 days until the END T20 Cricket World Cup!
➜ 28 more days and my daughter and my grandchildren are coming for the next visit!

Exciting I think!

Talking about exciting. Today I’m sharing something exciting with you. I am going to reflect on my week sharing the highlights of each day with you, what happened and what I have learned from them.

MONDAY

It is Monday!

I woke up this morning in darkness. Not because it was till dark outside but because I woke up in the presence of “loadshedding”.
Yip! It is still with us. In fact, since 2007 it has not left us. The only difference is that in the last couple of years we’ve been experiencing severe loadshedding.

In case you cannot remember what loadshedding is, it is when the need for electricity exceeds the available electricity.

My mind raced to the matric students who are writing exams, their National Senior Certificate (NSC). Here I was moaning about not being able to switch the kettle on when there were nearly 900,000 scholars who have to study by candlelight.

I’ve learned to be thankful for what I have as I could make that first cup of tea by boiling water on the gas stove.



TUESDAY

Rise and shine!

I got up before 5:00 to start my work as a moderator. I prefer to get some work done before my family wakes up and I have to make that first cup of coffee. How I enjoyed the posts this morning.

There was this one post where a Steemian was describing the beauty of nature. As I looked up from my desk I saw the coloring of the sky over the ocean. Spectacular! I’m excited for the rest of the day.

Coffee is followed by the packing of lunch boxes and the making of breakfast.

Midday!

I got a phone call that made my heart sink. It is now final, my daughter and her precious family are immigrating to New Zealand. My heart is so sore but deep down I know that they are making the right decision.

Afternoon!

I know they say that Mondays are for people with a mission but when a day is on the 1st of the month it sure has that “mission” to it. My mission this afternoon was to finish the month’s end of our business. That a task I am not very fond of as numbers are not my strong point but yah, it’s got to be done.

Evening!

Pizza! There is no time for cooking tonight. It’s pizza night. And with that, I’ve just become my stepson’s favorite stepmom.



Today I’ve learned that you can truly experience four seasons in your life in one day. From excitement, sadness, stress, and appreciation.

WEDNESDAY

My dear diary, believe it or not, there are also some days in your life which is not as exciting as others. Today, was one of those.

As I put my head down on my pillow I said thank you. Today I have learned to be thankful for an ordinary day that so easily could have been an extraordinary day.

Thank you Father, for food on our table, a roof over our heads, and for keeping us safe.

THURSDAY

The big day is here!

My stepson is getting his braces. Well, so we thought.

I made him a BIG breakfast before we left for the orthodontist as he will be on a “soft diet” for the next four days.

When we arrived she declared him “unfit” for the procedure. He has not been feeling well and with a runny nose, the risk of working in his mouth was too high. This was now the 3rd time that she had to cancel. Previously the tooth capsules, where teeth were pulled to make place for the moving of teeth, did not heal.

I don’t know who was the most disappointed, him or me.

Today I’ve learned that things in life happen for a reason even having fitting of braces being canceled. So easily he could have choked if she hadn’t stopped working in his mouth.

FRIDAY

Hubby was working from home today. Now that on its own can be challenging as we share one desk. Do I need to say more?

Coffee… and more coffee!

I wonder how many cups of coffee I made today.
I wonder how many posts I read today about the aroma of coffee.

By the end of the day, I was a coffee lover even when I haven’t had a cup of coffee in yyeeeaarrrsss…

Today was also a day of decision-making.

We are moving home in January and with that, we also have to decide on a new school for my stepson. With us being Afrikaans speaking it is no easy task finding schools in our hometown teaching in Afrikaans. The majority of Ballito is English speaking.



I’ve learned that everything you do starts with a decision even here on Steemit. You are the one that must decide what you are going to write about, where you are going to share your post, which posts you are going to read, who is the lucky 25 who is going to get your vote and… and… and.

SATURDAY

As you know there is one thing I don’t like and that is shopping. Guess what? I had to go and do the monthly grocery shopping as the cupboards, fridge, and freezer were running low.

I left the home just after 08:00 expecting the shops to be quiet. To my surprise, I had to discover that the rest of Ballito had the same idea. The shops were extremely busy. Looking back I can now say… It is done!

I came home with my family's favorite, pork crakcling!

image.png

My advice to you and a valuable lesson I’ve learned today is not to go and do shopping if you love cricket and it is the world cup. Each time I turned an aisle I first had to take my phone out of my bag to check the latest score.

SUNDAY

Disastrous!

You just need to look at some of my messages on Steemit today to see that it was not a good day for South Africa and not for me as a cricket lover.

We played the Netherlands which caused one of the biggest upsets in the T20 World Cup Series to date.

When I started to watch the odds were 99% for South Africa and 1% for the Netherlands for a win. As the game continue it started to change.

All of a sudden the scaling was tipping towards the Netherlands. In the end it was 99% for them and 1% for South Africa.

They ended our dreams of winning a world cup. Do I need to say more?

Okay, okay, I know you want me to say it... There is always next time!

My dear diary, when I reflect back to my days of the week I am happy and I am content with what I have learned.

  • I’ve learned to be thankful for what I have
  • Today I’ve learned that you can truly experience four seasons in your life in one day
  • Today I have learned to be thankful for an ordinary day
  • Today I’ve learned that things in life happen for a reason
  • I’ve learned that everything you do starts with a decision
  • I’ve learned that when you shop you must shop when you have time, not when the shops are busy, and for sure not during a world cup match
  • I’ve learned that it is not over until the last ball is bowled!

And this is where I close your page today.

Until next time!

image.png

Written in support of the World Smile Project South Africa

I invite my cricket buddies:
@morpheussa
@damithudaya
@kiwiscanfly

Club100
Transfer to vesting: 1,974.725 STEEM
Normal transfer: 33 STEEM (prizes)

  • My diary image, my signature diary image
  • All other images my own taken with my iPhone

image.png

I invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Click Here

Sort:  

A lot of information in one post. But I didn't get bored. That's the beauty of your writing. I was imagining those situations while reading. Exciting to hear that your daughter is immigrating, which should be sad for you. I also plan for that with the current situation of the country. And NewZealand is also on my list.

I turned an aisle I first had to take my phone out of my bag to check the latest score.

You got me.. 😁😁

Nice wrap-up for the week.

 2 years ago 

And as usual... your commentary on my post doesn't disappoint me. Thank you!
Wishing you all the best for your plans to move to where the grass is indeed greener.

Sweet friend @patjewell

It is a pleasure to read your publication, you have made a summary of your week exposing your daily activities where every day there is teaching and things that leave some reflection.

I liked the pizza, it looks very provocative and I share his reflections a lot, without a doubt many things can happen in one day and for something to happen there must be a decision first. And every day you learn something new.

Nice post, good luck.

Blessings

 2 years ago 

Sho that was quick! (•ิ‿•ิ)
Thank you! I appreciate your visit and you engagement with my post.
We are never too old to learn. Something new with each day.
Thank you, blessings to you also.

Hola 👋

Tuviste una semana muy activa dónde realizaste diversas actividades, la pizza se ve muy rica 😋 y concuerdo con tú reflexión pues cada día es un nuevo aprendizaje, un nuevo motivo para vivir y nuevas oportunidades para triunfar.

Un gusto leerte, saludos 🤗

 2 years ago 

Every new day indeed offers new opportunities to learn.
It is up to us to embrace them.
Thank you for you visit! It is appreciated. 🎕

Loading...

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

 2 years ago 

Thank you!

TEAM 4 CURATORS

Congratulations!
This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @petface

 2 years ago 

Thank you!! It is appreciated!
@petface

 2 years ago 

Los planes de Dios siempre son mejores que los nuestros, aunque la mayoria de las veces no entendemos el porque las cosas no salen como queremos, con el tiempo comprendemos que lo que sucedio fue lo mejor. Gracias por tu participación.

Te invito a ser parte de nuestras redes sociales “Scouts y sus amigos”

Telegram Whatsapp Twitter Discord
Te invito a delegar a nuestra comunidad y así ganar mejores % de votos a favor, además de ganar mejores intereses por tu delegación, si quieres saber más visita el siguiente enlace:
Tutorial para delegar SP.

Te invitamos a seguir las cuentas de Instagram de Steemit, e interactuar a través de ellas

image.png
image.png
image.png
Steem ESP
Steem ENG
Steem IND

 2 years ago 

It was a pleasure!
I have a question, is your social media groups in English?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62663.38
ETH 2445.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67