Hanging germinators

in Steemit-Garden6 months ago
Hello to all the members of this community who love nature, gardening and planting, today I want to continue sharing with you a little of my work regarding the organization of my garden and nursery. I decided to start growing some vegetables, among them lettuce, sweet bell pepper, onion, paprika, tomato and scallion, as I have a quite small space I decided to take advantage of the back wall of the patio and there make my hanging germinators with plastic bottles, in this case, everything is with recycled material.

germinador12.jpg germinador10.jpg
Source: @tomaspalomo

The first thing was to locate some 1.5 or 2 liter plastic soda bottles and cut them to start with my containers. You can use different containers that you have on hand at home, and once your plant is germinated and has grown you can change the container. This idea of hanging containers is ideal when, as in my case, you have little space or a vegetarian pet that likes to eat the plants. The soda bottles were cut with an exact cut in half and then I gave them shape, you can use the complete one because two germinators come out of a bottle, you only have to make small holes where the water will come out and that's it. To hang them I put a thick knitting thread and that's it.

germinador1.jpg
germinador4.jpg germinador2.jpg germinador3.jpg
Source: @tomaspalomo

In the case of my plants I try to give them a balanced amount of sun and shade, as we well know when we germinate we need more shade than direct sun, because the soil must maintain a temperature and humidity conducive for the seed or sprout to grow. A good mix of compost and soil, even a little bit of mulch is what I use on small new plants that will soon begin to look very big and strong.

germinador5.jpg germinador9.jpg
Source: @tomaspalomo

I use for my plants, for some of them the seeds that are already sold in nurseries or produce stores. These are excellent choices for those who want to start their own crop and don't know how to do it because on the back of each envelope is a detailed description of the plant and how you should plant it. These are easy to use and everything depends on the care we give them.

germinador11.jpg germinador15.jpg
Source: @tomaspalomo

The other thing is to use sprouts or the roots of the plants as in the case of the chives, I used some plants that I bought which I cut the chives to use in the meals and I planted the roots that are in the stem, the same thing I did with the cilantro. These plants are quite delicate, especially, because they must have a nice environment. In the area where I live at this time of the year, from January to March, sometimes even May, are good months for the cultivation of vegetable plants like these because the temperatures are pleasant and the thermal sensation is not as high as the months of July to November.

germinador13.jpg germinador14.jpg
germinador6.jpg germinador7.jpg
Source: @tomaspalomo

Having these plants at home gives me the possibility to maintain my family with food that contains the least amount of pesticides and chemicals, it is also a way to save and even earn a little money if there are good harvests, of course I currently have only a limited production for my home, but maybe later depending on how the crops are given I can expand the type of plants and quantities.

Sort:  
 6 months ago 

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66