My Simple and Mini Garden in Our Front Yard—Chili and Unknown Ornamental PlantsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steemit-Garden2 years ago (edited)

Gardening and Planting Chili.jpg

This image was made by the author using Canva. The background image was captured by the author.

Gardening and planting can be great hobbies. Many people from the Philippines started to become “plantito” and “plantita” when the quarantine and lockdown started. They are the people who love collecting plants as their hobby. In my opinion, it is a good way to kill boredom and to have at least an activity in your home that is beneficial to everyone.

I love planting but I don't have a “green thumb” to take care of plants. I remember that I planted some tomatoes and other vegetables before but they all started to dry. Since then, I stopped planting but I am always fascinated with nature especially the plants; ornamental and veggie plants.

Hence, I decided to plant some chilis and unknown ornamental plants that I bought from an online store. I did it because it was our project at the school where we needed to document the progress of our plants. But even though I already submitted my project, I decided to continue planting and make them grow.

Furthermore, what keeps pushing me to plant is the dead plant that I had. It was from my friend so I want to take care of it. But it started to dry after weeks of taking care. The reason? I forgot to water it and its position was directly from the sun. However, to keep the plant (or at least its leaves) I decided to preserve its leaves.

image.png

I published a tutorial about leaf preservation and I added some useful tips for beginners if you want to start preserving leaves. Soon, I will share my preserved leaves in the community.

Going back to planting, here are some quick shots by me with my planted chilis and unknown ornamental plant.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

I am also a fan of photography. This is why I am looking for the correct angle. However, I'm not sure if I did it correctly. I am only using my mobile phone to take these photos but somehow, the shots are better than old cameras.

As you will notice, the plants are kinda distraught because I transferred them directly to the soil and some are to pots. People said that it will not grow well because the pot is small so I am planning to have a bigger pot or just plant them directly in the soil. But you know, I only have a small space for it so I can't do it perfectly.

My plants grew, what now?

Well, my actual plan is to contribute to the community. I am not a vegetarian, but I prefer vegetables to meat. So, if someone asks to get a plant, I will give it to them for free. In fact, someone already got one pot of chili and I am happy that they are asking me. So far, there are two pending people from the community who are also asking for the plant.

Furthermore, I will wait for the unknown ornamental plant to grow before I give it to the community. I want to know what plant it is. If many people ask me about the plant, maybe I can sell them and get some profit. Although my main objective is to give it for free. It is my way to contribute to the community even though I am spending money. But no, maybe I won't sell them. It's better to give than to receive. Something like a non-profit organization.

Planting and gardening are good hobbies. It can lessen your stress level and be more attached to nature than technology.


Links and promotions:

Sort:  
Loading...

Hi, @anonymous02
Hello, welcome to Steemit!

I invite you to take part in the competition and get a guaranteed prize of 1 steem!

The grand prize is 15 steem! Details here: https://steemit.com/hive-176147/@steemit-market/steem-market-opens-the-prize-money-is-50-steem-everyone-is-guaranteed-a-prize

Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66267.02
ETH 3282.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70