Garden Stories, Growing Potatoes, Part 2, Harvesting Potatoes

in Steemit-Garden2 years ago

Hello, steemies and garden lovers!

In my previous post about potatoes, I talked about planting and growing the potatoes. In this post, I'll be talking about harvesting the potatoes.

At the end of August, I started digging up the potatoes. At that time, I only dug up 2 rows of the red potatoes. I was busy with other garden stuff, so I just dug up 2 rows to have some potatoes to eat.
This is the garden plot with the red potatoes, and also the Yukon Gold potatoes.

DSCN5595.JPG

These are the potatoes from the first 2 rows that I dug.

DSCN5525.JPG

At some point in September, I dug up the other 2 rows of red potatoes. For that, I only have a picture of the potatoes. I had the potatoes spread out to dry so that I could wipe the dirt off them.

DSCN5737.JPG

I still had 3 rows of Yukon Gold potatoes to dig up in the garden plot where the red potatoes had been. I started digging those at the beginning of October. I got a bucket of potatoes from each row, which I thought was pretty good.

DSCN5767.JPG

DSCN5768.JPG

Here's all the Yukon Gold potatoes after I washed them off with the garden hose.

DSCN5774.JPG

After I was done digging all the rows in that garden plot, I started digging in the other garden plot. First, I dug up some of the blue potatoes. I had 2 rows that only half of the plants came up, so I dug those first. They were the 2 rows closest to the end of the garden plot.

DSCN5789.JPG

These are the blue potatoes after I washed them.

DSCN5773.JPG

While I was there that time, I also dug up 1 row of the white potatoes.

DSCN5805.JPG

A few days later, I went back to the garden plots and dug up the other 3 rows of Russet white potatoes. These potatoes grew very well in the loose soil of this garden plot.

DSCN5815.JPG

After I finished digging the potatoes, I raked that part of the garden out flat.

DSCN5820.JPG

All I had left to dig after that was the last 2 rows of blue potatoes. I went back a couple of days later and dug those up.

DSCN5822.JPG

That was the last of harvesting the potatoes. I have a large refrigerator in the basement that I keep the potatoes in for the winter. They should be kept between 38 and 40 degrees F for proper storage. I would like to have a root cellar for storing food such as potatoes, but that's not possible where I live, so I use the refrigerator.

That's all I have for this post, I hope you found it interesting!

amber_yooper.png

steeming on.jpg

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I think you have reaped a good harvest. and the potatoes are all even and without damage. Will this harvest be enough for you for the winter? Then please write which potatoes are tastier, red, white or blue? It will be interesting to know.
#club100.

 2 years ago 

My favorite potato for the flavor is the red potato. Unfortunately, they don't keep as well as the white and the blue potatoes. Last year, the blue potatoes lasted the longest in storage.

 2 years ago 

100.0% уникальности текста (uniqueness of the text)
Здравствуйте. Это полуавтоматическая проверка уникальности сервисом content-watch. Пожалуйста, сообщайте о неточностях. Уникальность вашей статьи согласно сервиса content-watch.ru равна: 100.0%

Hello. This is a half-automatic uniqueness check by the content-watch service Please report any inaccuracies The uniqueness of your stat th according to the content-watch.ru service is equal to: 100.0%

 2 years ago 

Have a Happy #club100 Day 😀

 2 years ago 

Thank you!

This post has appeared in the Steem Environment Magizine Third Edition of November 2021, please allow it

Regards
@klen.civil

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99