Sort:  

Atheism is normal by now, I'd say. 😁 In many countries atheism doubled, even quadrupled, since the internet became available on phones and those phones became commonly available to people. The internet and the fake news on it forces people to be critical, to ask questions, and to demand answers. That's the death of religion.

I feel like there are degrees to normalcy, and atheism is getting to be seen as more normal, but it is a long process for religion to 'die'. I love that atheism is on the rise globally, and I hope the trend continues. I think it will with the internet.

I want to see nonreligion more normalized in my country, the USA. Most people here are religious and look down on atheism as still being somewhat of a fringe group, even though I have seen estimates that as much as 25% of the population here if pinned down on it would have to say that they do not actually presume that gods are real.

I do not intend to stop advocating until atheism is seen everywhere as being fully normal. Yes, atheism is normal; that was never in question. By "normalize" I am saying that it needs to be recognized as such.

The internet is busy killing religion, in the most amusing way: By the fake news it contains. 😁 It forces religiots to question everything they read, and to demand evidence, because like everyone else they don't want to look like a fool later for believing fake news. No religion can then survive.

However, unfortunately, many religiots - and I do mean the term as insulting to them; just look at the damage their beliefs still cause - are blind towards any facts that contradict their delusions. I found that diplomacy and sound reasoning has no effect on them, they just shout 'bless you' while running away.

My strategy is therefore to troll them hard, because I know their semi-infected children see it then, and that gets the latter to ask questions their parents cannot answer. I don't care what those kids then believe, as long as they base their beliefs on verified facts alone and question everything else thereafter.

Atheism rose through the roof in just 15 years, in some countries it quadrupled. And having a majority of atheists this decade already is all that will save our planet. When people realize we have only ourselves to rely on, we automatically stop screwing up the earth just so the Cloud Fairy can come rapture us sooner.

I'm glad you're an atheist too, or else my posts would have upset you greatly. It may still do so, I'm so militant that if I was a Muslim I would have had a fleet of Boeings. But luckily for them zombies I'm an atheist, so I only throw them with their own fairy books.

diplomacy and sound reasoning has no effect on them, they just shout 'bless you' while running away.

Diplomacy and sound reasoning are precisely what made me an atheist. I went from being devoted to Christianity, to denouncing it as a positive atheist, because people respected me enough to recognize that I could and would reason with them when they shared why they did not believe there was a god.

By the way, I follow you now on both steemit and ecency.com.

:D

Thanks, I'll return the favor and add you there later today as well. I spent all my Hive power or mana or whatever they call it, was down to just 8% a few days ago. Had to wait for it to charge back up, believe it will be back up by 100% later today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66836.85
ETH 3510.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19