Recipe of the Day, Week No.15: OKRO SOUP

in Steemit Iron Chef5 months ago

My amazing chefs of Steemit Iron-Chef community, I greet you all. It's a pleasure to be here to participate in this week 15 recipe of the day contest by @Mary. It's been amazing seeing most delicacies and I do try out some that the ingredients are at reach.

Today, my recipe of the day is Okro soup.

IMG20240415175707.jpg

This delicacy is enjoyed by alot of people from where I'm from (Nigeria), because before the high exchange rate, it was low income friendly for alot of people. This dish is very delicious. And I learnt it using my mother's method, but different people have different methods.

The health benefits of this dish

There are numerous health benefits but I'll mention a few;

  • Packed with a lot of nutrients that nourishes the body.

  • This Okro helps fight cancer.

  • Okro gives healthy immune functions from its vitamin c nutrient.

  • Brain and heart health is supported from this dish.

  • It helps control blood sugar.

  • It helps in checking/losing weight.


Ingredients

IMG20240415164706.jpg

The ingredients I used for this dish are;

  • Okro

  • Stockfish

  • Goat meat(you can use any protein of your choice)

  • Perewinkle

  • Onions/peppers

  • Maggi/salt

  • Palm oil

  • Crayfish

  • Adusa leaf(or pumpkin leaf)


Steps by steps preparation

People have their own way of starting their dish preparation. I will write out my own steps that I use.

  • I wash and season my goat meat with onions, pepper, salt and maggi, usually, I add my stockfish at by once to boil and get soft with the meat.

IMG20240415165722.jpg

  • While the meat is cooking, I wash and dice my Okro, pound my crayfish, cut onions, wash and cut the adusa leaf, wash perewinkle and set aside for my meat to be done so i can start cooking.

IMG20240415172901.jpg

  • To the main cooking, I like to turn my meat stock into a basin and in my empty pot, I add palm oil and when it's a little hit, I add my chopped onions and stir.

IMG20240415173206.jpg

  • Then I add my Okro and stir for a little while.

IMG20240415173225.jpg

  • Then I add my cooked meat and it's stock and stir it.

IMG20240415173307.jpg

  • After that, comes my perewinkle.

IMG20240415173433.jpg

  • While it starts to boil, I add my crayfish and the leaf.

IMG20240415173544.jpg

  • When it boils a bit, you can bring down the pot and serve your delicious meal with cassava flakes (garri) or with foo foo or with rice.

IMG20240415174422.jpg

IMG20240420114759.jpg
Here's a serving with my details.

This dish can be served mostly as lunch but people also prefer eating swallow at night(dinner) or as breakfast.


I would like to invite @chiomzy810, @dave-hanny and @peacebala to join this contest. Thank you.

Sort:  
Loading...
 4 months ago 

Saludos y bendiciones tu plato se ve de un delicioso que aunque no conozco su sabor debe quedar de lujo.
Pensar en el cangrejo, en el bacalao la carne de cabra un plato súper vitamínico..
Los beneficios son muy completos...

Exitos

venezuela

 4 months ago 

Oh dear,it tastes so delicious, especially when you have obstructions while eating, what we call obstructions are the goat meat, perewinkle, stock fish and dry fish, but i didn't add dry fish to mine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56769.47
ETH 2402.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30