Steemit Engagement Challenge S11W5 - “Flavors and Traditions”

in Steemit Iron Chef10 months ago

20230822_153312.jpg

Hello friends

What's cooking today? I am so excited to share with us my traditional meal. You might have tasted it or not, you might have heard about it or not, whichever be the case, I will share it with you.

I come from the eastern part of Nigeria, from a state called Abia State. In Abia state, we have so many traditional meals which every village in my state enjoys.

We have meals like; Asusu which is prepared with ground corn meal, salt, and water.

Ofe achara Oh! The taste of this soup when added uziza leaves and ukazi leaves is very delicious.

Ji mmiri oku is yam and dried fish pepper soup. This meal is usually for new moms, but in my place, it's not a regular meal.

1692712979589.jpgokazi soup1692712950065.jpgachara soup

So here I will be sharing with us a meal that is so rich, delicious, cost so much, and require a lot of time and energy to get done. This meal is not a regular meal, it is often prepared occasionally.

Only the content of this meal leaves one salivating. I love eating this meal but I don't like the preparations. The name of this traditional meal is Ikokore known as water yam porridge.

This meal is prepared with water yam, smoked fish, periwinkle, salt, pepper, leaf, pomo, crayfish, onions, and oil, and it is also prepared by a lot of tribes but in different styles.

If you need the processes, just ask and I will make a post on it.

IMG_20230818_151248_675.jpgmy traditional meal


This meal is well represented in my place because it is not just any meal that is prepared anyhow. Just like I said earlier, it is mostly prepared occasionally. This is a meal we so desire to eat once we get to my home town because we don't easily see it, it can be eaten maybe twice or thrice a year that is why we crave it when we are opportune to eat it.

I could remember my days in the college, we had a cultural day in the institution. Everyone was to bring their culture to town. My people and I planned and prepare this meal (Ikokore) because that is what we eat back home and this meal gave us the credits that made us the winner. That is how this meal is represented in my town.

I invite my friends @ruthjoe @mariami @princa @beautyfair

Sort:  

Congratulations!

This post has been supported through the account Steemcurator06 for containing good quality content.

Curated by : @pelon53

 10 months ago 

Thank you so much

Hello! 😄 I'm thrilled by your blog post about traditional cuisine. You passionately introduce authentic dishes from Abia State, Nigeria. From Asusu to the delightful Ofe achara, your descriptions had my mouth watering. The Ikokore, a water yam porridge, sounds exquisite though intricate to prepare. Your dedication to sharing these recipes speaks of your love for food and culture. Congratulations on taking your heritage to new places! 🥘🇳🇬👏

 10 months ago 

Thank you so much. These meals are worth having a taste!

You weren't wrong about me, I love food.

Best regards

 10 months ago 

Your traditional food looks appetizing and yummy especially the soups..

Am a lover of good food I sure knows how to spot them.
Best wishes and thanks for the invite

Loading...
 10 months ago 

Saludos Chef @ninapenda

Gracias por ser parte de la comunidad y participar en los concursos.

Te invitamos a seguir las redes sociales para Steem y Steemit:

@steemesp |@steemeng|@steem.ind

Saludos.

 10 months ago 

Hola sra @ninapenda, no conocia el ikokore pero gracias por conpartirla porque asi conozco más de comidas tradicionales y se ve rica tambien. Bye❤️.

 10 months ago (edited)

I am glad I shared it here. Soon I will give the full recipes.... Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65368.93
ETH 3415.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54