Creativity time! #15- Simple okra soup (A Nigerian Dish)!

in Steemit Iron Chef3 months ago (edited)

20230928_105940.jpg

Hello chef!

Welcome to Nina's kitchen where I bring you my weekly dishes from Nigeria! If you missed our sausage fried rice, I urge you to get it here

I am your chef, Ninapenda!

This week I have come with a sumptuous meal called Okra Soup, a Nigerian dish. I don't know how many who has tasted this soup, well if you don't know the soup, I will tell you all you need to know about this soup, and trust me, you will run to the market to purchase all ingredients and make your way to your kitchen.

Okra soup is a Nigerian dish commonly known in the igbo tribe. It is a vegetable that does not need to be overcooked and with a little onions, you get the right taste.

This dish is loved by all who tasted it because it is yummy and easy to swallow. Although everyone who ever cooked this dish, invented their own style. So I would say, if my style is not adoptable, please do something you feel comfortable with and enjoy the okra soup.

Let's begin with the way I prepared my simple okra soup (A Nigerian Dish)

Ingredients

🔻Okra
🔻Vegetable
🔻palm oil
🔻Onions (optional)
🔻Meat or fish
🔻Kpomo (cow skin)
🔻Pepper
🔻Spices
🔻Smoked fish
🔻Water
🔻Salt

Procedure

IMG_20240511_110723_064.jpgAll ingredients boiling in the pot

🔹Wash all meat, fish, kpomo and smoked fish thoroughly with salt and water, rinse with a clean water and put them in a pot. Add water to it, slice in a ball of onion, add a little spice and pepper, and set on fire.

🔹Wash your okra and vegetables with salt and clean water, slice them into a neat plate and set aside.

IMG_20240511_111417_207.jpgsliced okra and vegetables

🔹Now, in the boiling pot, add palm oil and allow to boil for some time.

🔹Pour in the okra and vegetables into the pot and stir. Now you might want to taste for salt adjustment.

IMG_20240511_111722_511.jpgokra and vegetables in the pot

🔹Taste for salt and allow to boil for some time before bringing the pot down. After that, our sumptuous okra soup is ready!

IMG_20240511_113234_203.jpgokra soup ready to be served

I know a lot of you would wonder why I didn't add (ogbono) draw thickener to my soup, well, that is because I am not a fan of ogbono and I prefer my okra fresh with no draw thickener to help.

Without a thickener, the okra gives a natural taste and allows me swallow my food easily. You might add ogbono to your soup, it's a choice!, but the main thing is getting to enjoy the okra itself.

I will leave you here to go let the flavour spring up in your kitchen and hey, don't enjoy it all alone, call on family members to join the trail. Don't enjoy alone!

See you next week with something mouth-watering. You can leave any suggestions or contribution in the comment section. Bye 👋!

20231026_101606.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50