FOODCOLORCHALLENGE| Sweet Orange Week | Red Lentils and Carrot Hummus

in Steemit Iron Chef2 years ago (edited)

Hi, Steemit Iron Chef Community!

It's a pleasure for me to post in this smiling and colorful community.

I want to thank @progressivechef for keeping this space open and @sanuri for hosting this contest in the community. Just click HERE should you like to learn about Food Color Challenge.

I'd like to invite @deepak94, @nadeesew, and @mvchacin to join in :)

image.png

I made red lentils and carrot hummus for breakfast this morning. It was part of our meal, along with fried eggs and coffee.

image.png

I made tahini sauce with toasted sesame seeds, olive oil and lemon juice. Then I added garlic and the cooked lentils. I processed everything very easily with the immersion blender.

Besides red lentils and carrots, I used sautéed onions, sweet chili, green bell pepper, and garlic to provide extra flavor to the hummus.

image.png

As I wanted to enhance the orange color of the dish, I added some julienned carrots and small pieces of toasted pita bread that I had rubbed with oil, turmeric and paprika before putting them in the oven.

image.png

I came up with the idea of some parsley for decoration.

image.png

And the contrast between the hummus and the green of the parsley made its orange look a little prettier.

image.png

Red lentils are actually of a vivid orange color.

image.png

They turn pale when you have them boil. If you fry them, they become similar to regular lentils, between green and brown. So this color thing is not simple, ha, ha, ha, ha.


image.png

The truth is that not only was I able to get the orange I needed for my #orangeweek post, but this hummus actually turned out really tasty.

I sprinkled peperoncino on top, since at home we love a little spice in our food. The white cream next to the carrots in Greek yogurt with freshly ground black pepper.

Everything worked very well together.
image.png

image.png

All pictures and text are mine.

image.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Espectacular!!! Increíble que diera ese tono. La combinación del verde realza más el tono naranja. Quedó bellísimo . Felicitaciones

 2 years ago 

Hola, @reinamia. Lo del color es un tema XD
Usar lentejas rojas cuidando que no se pongan verdes, para hacer el hummus anaranjado no tiene pérdida.

Gracias por tu linda visita :)

 2 years ago 

Felicidades por presentación amiga, tienes razón lograste presentar muy bien el naranja. Has cuidado cada detalle, suerte y bendiciones.

 2 years ago 

Hola, @alicargofer. Cada vez que estoy en estos menesteres me acuardo de ti; los retos semanales son muy divertidos. Gracias por tu linda visita. Saludos :)

 2 years ago 

Hello @marlyncabrera,

Thank you for this beautiful presentation for the Sweet Orange Week of the foodcolorchallenge.

🍊
This Red Lentils and Carrot Hummus is absolutely awesome!... ✨ Good job!!! And I'm sure these are very delicious 😍. What a great entry.

Hope to see you next week with a great entry again!
🍊

 2 years ago 

Hi, @sanuri and thank you for reviewing my post :) Glad you liked it.

Aapne jo food breakfast mai bnaya hai dekhe mja aa gya mujhai lgta hai ye khane mai bhi utna hi swadisht hoga jitna dekhne mai lgta hai..

 2 years ago (edited)

Saludos amigo, felicitaciones por una talentosa entrada digna de ti, cuidando cada detalle, los colores lucen muy hermosos. Exitos. Gracias por la invitación.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99