FOODCOLORCHALLENGE| Green Week | Homemade Plantain and Spinach Crepes

in Steemit Iron Chef2 years ago (edited)

Hi, Steemit Iron Chef Community!

It's a pleasure for me to post for the first time in this smiling and colorful community.

I want to thank @progressivechef for keeping this space open and @sanuri for hosting this contest in the community. Just click HERE should you like to learn about Food Color Challenge.

Now I'd like to invite @pea07, @eglis, and @reinamia to join in :)

image.png

Today I made crepes for breakfast. When I don't make them with the traditional mix of flour, milk, butter and eggs, I usually use unripe plantains. Since I also made basil pesto, I took the opportunity to add spinach to my crepes mix, to give them the green I needed and thus have my post for #foodcolorchallenge.

image.png

Green is the color that stands out in this stuffed crepe. Inside I put lettuce, smoked ham, cheese, yogurt and homemade basil pesto.

image.png

We love these flavors at home. We like a good amount of fresh garlic in our basil pesto.

image.png

The crepes are browned on one side and greener on the other. I folded them with the greener side out and used toothpicks with a basil bud to make sure they were well closed.

image.png

I also used some pesto to make a modest decoration on the plate.

image.png

image.png

The combination of unripe plantain and spinach turned out to be a success.

I used just 100 gr of spinach and two plantains, 2 eggs, 2 tablespoons of butter, 1 tablespoon of sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of melted salt for 8 crepes.

These crepes do not contain flour or milk.

So they are an excellent choice for those who cannot consume gluten or casein. Just make sure that the filling is also suitable--ham contains gluten and cheese contains casein.


image.png

image.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hello @marlyncabrera,

Thank you for this beautiful presentation for the Green Week of the foodcolorchallenge.

🍏
This Homemade Plantain and Spinach Crepes is absolutely awesome!... Just WOW!!! You did a fantastic job ✨. And I'm sure these are very delicious 😍. What a great entry.

Hi friend,
Your dishes are beautiful and the photos are really great.
TIP: Adding text on top of your first picture makes the dish highlight less in the thumbnail. It would be better to present a beautiful picture of your dish as the first picture of your post.

Hope to see you next week with a great entry again!
🍏

 2 years ago 

Hi, @sanuri. Thanks for your nice words and advice.

I decided to edit the cover as you can see. I have no idea if this will work as another entry, but I didn't like the original cover anyway because it looked cluttered due to the size of the text.

For next week, I will try to make a photo that has a natural visual frame so I can use it without text, or with a minimum of text.

Cheers!

 2 years ago 

What a beautiful presentation. Your crepes looks so good and healthy.
Congratulations to you!

 2 years ago 

Thanks a lot, @jobreyes24. I really appreciate it as I love your work.
Cheers :)

 2 years ago 

What a beautiful presentation. Your crepes looks so good and healthy.
Congratulations to you!

 2 years ago 

Que espectáculo de receta, el colorido atrapa y cuando leo la descripción del proceso, es una invitación a emular . Felicitaciones, como siempre impecable amiga . Gracias por la invitación 😁

 2 years ago 

Hola, @reinamia. No podía hacer algo con espinacas sin mencionarte. Quedan muy sabrosas; eso sí, hay que dejarlas que se cocinen bien por un solo lado antes de voltearlas, para no tostarlas por el otro lado y que conserven el verde.

Saludos y gracias por tu linda visita :)

 2 years ago 

Amiga no alcance a participar en la semana verde, pero tu nos muestras un gran menú, con un gran emplatado y hermosas fotos. Te deseo mucha suerte en el concurso, espero vernos pronto en la semana naranja.

 2 years ago 

Hola, @alicargofer. ¡Muchas gracias! Aquí me quedé pensando que las naranjas nuestras son amarillas, ja, ja, ja.

Nos vemos por aquí y por allá 🥰

 2 years ago 

Your dish looks so great, I like your plating style too. I hope you can show how to make this recipe, I'll like to try it. Must be a tasty recipe.

Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51