Food you identify with | Sweet Temptation

in Steemit Iron Cheflast month

For me, there is one dish that holds a special place in my culinary heart. This is not pizza or lasagna, but something sweeter, more delicate and much more personal - cherry cake.

cake (1).jpg

My grandmother, was a master chef whose hands had created countless masterpieces over the years. She was the one who taught me to value food not only as fuel for my body, but also as a connection between people, culture and history. One afternoon, while we were sitting under the shade of an olive tree, she mentioned to me the meaning of the phrase "We are what we eat." Her words resonated deeply with me, inspiring me to explore my relationship with food. The cherry cake became a symbol of this relationship. Every year, when the first May cherries ripen, we pick them together, enjoying their sweet taste straight from the tree. Then we spend hours in the kitchen mixing the dough, arranging the cherries on top and baking until golden brown. This process is a family tradition passed down through generations in our family, each adding their own unique touch to the tradition. A cherry dessert is more than just a tasty treat, it's a symbol of the love, shared history and heritage that bind families together. Each layer tells a story - the soft, crumbly dough symbolizes the strength and endurance of our ancestors, while the juicy, sweet cherries represent the joy and sweetness of life.

cake (2).jpg

When we serve the cake, there is silence around the table as everyone takes a bite, feeling the flavors dance on their tongues. Eyes widen with delight, smiles beam across faces as we share stories and laughs. In these moments I realize the depth of Ludwig Feuerbach's words. We really are what we eat because food shapes not only our bodies but also our memories, our emotions and our relationships.

So when I'm asked what the phrase "We are what we eat" means, I answer with a smile and a piece of cherry cake. Because through this simple dessert I can share a part of myself, my story and my connections with others. And ultimately, what better definition of who we are than this?

cake (3).jpg

If you also want to tell about your culinary experience and interpret the phrase "We are what we eat", you can enter the contest by visiting this link
https://steemit.com/hive-180301/@mvchacin/concurso-la-comida-con-la-que-te-identifican-contest-food-you-identify-with
Organized by @mvchacin

image.png

I want to invite @hooriarehman @marijoluna @blanca56

Sort:  

Hola Charter, me encantó tu artículo y tu forma tan particular de relatar tu historia familiar, cargada de tradición y amor alrededor de una receta, no he tenido el gusto de probar un pastel de cerezas en los términos que lo describes, pero espero hacerlo muy pronto, buen provecho y éxitos

 last month 

¡Gracias por las amables palabras! Me alegra que mi historia haya resonado contigo. Si alguna vez tienes la oportunidad de probar nuestro tradicional pastel de cerezas, cuéntame cómo te fue. ¡Buen provecho para ti también!

TEAM 2
: Congratulations! This post has been voted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere and any tags.

Team 2 curation.png

Curated by : @bossj23

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68