"Recipe of the Day, Week No. 29: Improved Version Cooking (Beans and Plantain Porridge )"

in Steemit Iron Chef2 months ago (edited)

IMG_20240815_182505.jpg

You may be wondering why I tagged improved version in the title. It's the same recipe I cooked some days ago but this time, I changed the food's appearance and taste.

It's another day to show off my man skills.. Men can cook for a fact, and for this content, I'll be showing off my recipe and the strategies used in making this special recipe in my country. Beans and plantains porridge are two of the major foods eaten in my city.

In this critical time hard to deal with, it's difficult for the majority to eat what they used to eat because of how expensive the cost of living is and how expensive the expensive the prices of foodstuffs are. Back then, you'd budget foodstuffs to purchase in the market, but on getting there, you found the prices of these foodstuffs were above your budget.

You'll have to break your budget to fit in with what you have at hand. Beans in my city are of different types, of which the least price is #400 naira, which is equivalent to 1.6 steems. Plantains are very expensive in the market. Only those who plant get to enjoy the produce.

If you check my posts, you'll see that I once posted bean and plantain Porridge and I'm doing so again. This shows the plantain was harvested in my yard and used for making this special recipe. Anyway, let's go into the main deal. I'll tell you the importance of these two commodities in the economy and what they're all about before showing steps on how they're being prepared.

Beans and Plantain Porridge [About]

This combination is a very thick combination. There's this challenge that was trending some time last year. Rich man children will think it is dog poo poo. Then they'll drop a picture to tag. Quite funny. If you look at this food, you may think it's repulsive if you've never tasted or seen it before. That's why I was trying to insinuate.

Bean and plantains are popular food combinations that vary among individuals. Some can choose to boil the plantains and eat them with beans, while others may choose to make porridge the way I'm doing. Both combinations taste great, but to be frank, the porridge, if eaten with bread, will take you to the next level of life. These two commodities are valued in the market and can be eaten anytime—as breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

They both contain classes of food that give the body energy and also build it, as the case may be. The protein found in beans makes one grow tall, say the people. It makes you look healthy and prevents malnutrition, as too much carbohydrate can cause this.

Market Survey

Before you cook a particular meal, you need to calculate the expense of what you want to cook, either for personal use or for family consumption, so as to know the quantity to purchase.

ItemsPrice in nairaSteems
6 cups of beans#270010
Dry fish, crayfish, and bonger fish#300011
Spices#10004
Oil#8003.2
Total#650026 steems

So for this meal, I spent 26 steems in preparation. Not too bad, at least for family consumption in the morning and afternoon [breakfast and lunch].

Ingredients and foodstuffs Used

To prepare this meal, you need foodstuffs, as you can't do anything without them.

BeansPXL_20240809_094741482.PORTRAIT.jpg
Plantains PXL_20240809_094826979.PORTRAIT.jpgMaggi and Salt PXL_20240814_071753964.PORTRAIT.jpg
Scent or vegetable leaf and OilPXL_20240814_071647711.PORTRAIT.jpg
Spices PXL_20240814_071827639.PORTRAIT.jpgFish [Dry and Cray]PXL_20240814_070246035.PORTRAIT.jpg
Method of Preparation
  • Cooking a tasty bean and plantain Porridge, I measured the quantity of beans I wanted to cook and then selected the shaft from the beans. I measured 4 cups and then did the selection on a tray. After selection, I washed the beans properly and allowed the residual shafts to float while the sand sank to the bottom of the pot. I did the separation and contained it in a clean pot.

PXL_20240814_070257317.PORTRAIT.jpg

  • I was very conscious of the amount of water added to it to avoid making it too soft during the cooking process. I added a jug of water to it and ensured the water was above the beans, about 4 meters. I then heated the pot of beans until it was a bit soft. The colour of the water did change to brown somehow, as shown below. When it got to this point, I added a considerable amount of salt and tasted to know if it was tasty or not.
PXL_20240814_070246035.PORTRAIT.jpgAdding condiments

PXL_20240814_071707903.PORTRAIT.jpg

  • After adding salt, I added 6 cubes of Maggi to the beans and tasted them to ensure they were tasty. I then added ground crayfish, dry fish, sliced plantains, pepper, and other spices to the pot and added some water as the initial water used in boiling the beans reduced as a result of the applied heat.
PXL_20240814_071600809.PORTRAIT.jpgMr chef

PXL_20240814_073451731.PORTRAIT.jpg

I had to wait for 10–15 minutes for what I added to settle before adding oil. I then added vegetables when the water had been absorbed. This recipe doesn't need to go completely dry, as rice does. I made it a thick porridge so the taste could be felt. And then, I had my porridge served warm, and as I ate, I left for work.

PXL_20240814_080647268.PORTRAIT.jpgPXL_20240814_080614155.PORTRAIT.jpg
PXL_20240814_080522581.PORTRAIT.jpgFinal Product

This is my finished product. I had to attach my name to show ownership and date. Is there any man who would love to challenge me in food preparation and design? Hit me in the comment section. This is an improved version of the same recipe I made some days ago.

Cc,
@nancy0

Sort:  
Loading...

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Men can cook but to me women cooks better, you are doing well as a chef keep it up and invite me to have a taste so that I can confirm your cooking. Yandie

Congratulations, your post has been curated by @dsc-r2cornell. You can use the tag #R2cornell. Also, find us on Discord

Manually curated by Blessed-girl


image.png

Felicitaciones, su publicación ha sido votada por @ dsc-r2cornell. Puedes usar el tag #R2cornell. También, nos puedes encontrar en Discord

Stop playing 😂


Hello there, you have posted a great quality post and we are happy to support you, stay up with good quality publications

Curated by : @enamul17

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61320.84
ETH 2394.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56