One Picture And One Story Week #25

in Steem For Pakistan5 months ago (edited)

IMG_20240108_145731_951.jpg

THE STRUGGLE OF A NIGERIAN

The year is 2024, I had just moved into a new a city and did not have much of a great Christmas celebration since I was faraway away from home.

The day is 8th January 2024, the new year had just passed with all the expectations, prayers had been offered and we were hopeful that things would be different in this year.

"This is my year", I said

The day is my birthday, I had just added another year to my life, I am now in my late twenties. I made mental notes of everything I wanted to achieve this year. Of dreams I was going to chase.
Age was no longer on my side and I do not see myself as someone that has achieved so much. I need to to put in more effort to bring around a change.

No more lasciviousness, no more procrastination. The last thing I want is to be old and regretting the live I had lived. Never.

You may ask, where am I headed? Just stay with me a little more.

It all started with the fall of the naira(₦) against the dollar. From ₦1200 to ₦1500 and going as high as ₦1900.
Things started going up, both the ones that concerned dollar and the ones that didn't concern dollar.

Like a garri that has been soaked in water, prices of foodstuffs started rising. Garri went from ₦1400 per custard bucket to ₦2500, please don't laugh. This is supposed to be the cheapest commodity for the common man.
Everyday you go to buy something at the market you find a new price and you wonder if yeast is added to the prices at night while men slept. Sad..

Now instead of chasing my dreams I am just trying my best to survive. But how do you go from surviving with ₦600 a day to ₦1,000?

I thought I was going to chase my dreams this year but seems I am the one being chased by the economic hardship in my country.

While I took that picture above I was happy and hopeful of better things to come. But maybe if a time traveler had come to tell me what is to come, maybe I wouldn't have been smiling.
Maybe the money I spent to celebrate that day would have been kept to survive this economic turmoil.

Nonetheless, I keep fighting, to eat, to survive and to succeed. Because if I do not succeed tomorrow, as the popular saying goes "you go explain tire, no evidence".

Thank you for reading my post, I invite my bosses @bossj23, @goodybest and @comfortpeter to comment on my post.

Thank you @suboohi for organising this contest and @disconnect for bring it to my knowledge.

Sort:  
 5 months ago 

Hello, @zekanem thanks for the invitation here.

I can totally relate with everything you have stated here.
It is no doubt That the economy is not favourable at all in the country. But all the same we are going to survive it.

I wish you the best in this contest.

 4 months ago 

Thank you very much for your kind comment my dear. We will surely survive it.

The economy is hard and hike in prices is no longer just daily but hourly.

Inspite of all this, there's still hope for survival. Whereas, where there's life, there's definitely hop.

 4 months ago 

Yes dear there's still hope for survival. I believe.
Thank you for your comment. I really appreciate.

 4 months ago 

@zekanem, your candid reflection on the struggles faced by many Nigerians amidst economic hardships is both poignant and eye-opening. Your personal narrative invites readers to empathize with the challenges of daily survival and the daunting task of pursuing dreams in the face of adversity. Your resilience shines through in your determination to keep fighting, despite the odds stacked against you. Thank you for sharing your story with such honesty and vulnerability and best wishes in the contest.

 4 months ago 

Thank you for your valuable feedback and words. I appreciate

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

 4 months ago 

I hope you are well, I saw your pose, I like your post very much and you have done a very good job and you have put your own picture which looks very attractive. And I'm so glad you had a good day and you have memories with this picture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66666.50
ETH 3503.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71