Church: My View, Myself Wk26".

in Steem For Pakistan2 months ago

pexels-photo-1116994.jpeg
Source

When the word, church comes to mind, so many other things follow. In my case, I think of the pastor, the choir, the congregation dancing. Having been to a Catholic church numerous times, Mass also comes to mind.
Let's get to know more about my perspective on church.

CHURCH

The word "church" is said to have been derived from a Greek word "ekklesia," which means "gathering" or "assembly".
Church could be seen and understood from different perspectives. It could be seen as the building for public worship, building specifically designed for public forms of worship, especially Christian worship.
It can also be seen as a christian body of believers, the collective body of Christian. This includes all Christians around the world who are united by their faith in Jesus Christ.

Some christian denominations however, avoid using "church" for their buildings. They prefer terms like "meetinghouse" or "steeplehouse," to emphasize the importance of the congregation over the physical structure.

How often do you go to church and what's the name of your church?

Coming from a home that strongly believes in God and worshipping at his presence, I go to church almost every Sunday and any other days that holds an activity I love. This has become an habit so much that anytime I miss a Sunday service irrespective of what is holding back, I always feel like I did something wrong.

IMG_20240603_120601.jpg
Picture of me after service in church last Sunday

At home I attend my family's church; Qua Iboe church but in school, I attend Victory Chapel due to the distance of Qua Iboe from where I stay.
Back in secondary school, a Catholic school, I attended the Catholic Church which means I went for mass during that period. I've enjoyed the experience and time spent in these churches and I definitely learnt something from all.

The way activities are carried out in these three churches may seem different but then, it's all one goal at the end, worshipping God and this, I always try to remember.

Benefits of Going to Church.

pexels-photo-2351722.jpeg
Source
Like the English poet and cleric, John Donne careno carefully penned "no man is an island." This is one phrase I believe, no one is self-sufficient, no human has all the knowledge, therefore, going to church holds many benefits which could depend sometimes on the individual.
Some of these benefits are;

  • Happiness and a feeling of satisfaction: this I've experienced. Going to church, listening to the pure word, partaking in worship and praises, all these and more gives some level of happiness and satisfaction which is good.

  • Deepen your faith: Attending religious gatherings or services and participating in religious practices from time to time can help you connect with your faith on a deeper level. Sermons, discussions, and prayers can provide opportunities for self reflection and growth.

  • Developing a moral compass: Many religions emphasize and stress the idea of having ethical principles and values. Going to church regularly can reinforce these values and help you live a more meaningful life.

  • Sense of belonging: Churches like the Victory Chapel I attend in school, often foster a strong sense of community. You can build friendships, find a support network, and feel connected to others who share your beliefs.
    IMG_20240603_121312.jpg
    Myself and friends I made from church

However, these and more are all just potential benefits. Some people may not find these benefits in church, and some churches may not be as welcoming or inclusive as others. But then, they're churches that have all these and I can attest to that.

Which steemian do you want to go to church with, someday?

That steemian would be @bossj23.
This has been on my mind since I found out he was a very active member of the JW. I will love to go to church with him some day, his church precisely, mostly for the experience, to understand how things are done there, and to see more about all he's been doing.

Thank you, @saintkelvin17 for organizing this contest. I'm inviting my friends; @uduak01, @nsijoro, @whizzbro4eva, @uduak3287 and @bossj23 to participate.

Sort:  

from my own perspective, church is where believers or Christians gathering to learn and worship God. Just like you said, some Christian doesn't like to use the word church but the prefer other name similar to it. We all attend "church" to learn about God, as a jw, I don't miss our Christian meeting because it's part of my life. Thank you for sharing this wonderful knowledge with us, I wish you the best.

Thank you!

Indeed, whatever we choose to call our place of worship doesn't really matter as much as what goes on there. So far as the aim and purpose of being there is achieved, it counts. And again, we are the church.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68255.87
ETH 3271.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68