Contest Alert!! 1 Picture 1 Story Week #23

in Steem For Pakistan5 months ago

Good day to you all my friends, I trust you are all doing great and your day is going well smoothly. I am @tripple-e from Nigeria, the giant of Africa.
I'm glad to be sharing my 1 picture, 1 Story in this week contest.

I appreciate @suboohi for consistently hosting this contest.

IMG_20240224_125551_041.jpg
This is me during my man'o war drilling.😀😀

My darlings, you see that robe, it wasn't easy climbing it but I summoned up courage to do it.
Aha! I give it to myself @tripple-e you are a strong lady. One girl even bursted out crying, she couldn't come down from the tree, and officer had to climb the tree to help her down. It was a sight to behold🤣🤣🤣.

Oh my God! How time flies. That picture was taken way back 2017.

Okay, this is the story behind the picture

In my country Nigeria, there is a scheme called NYSC, that is to mean, National Youths Service Corp.
What is this all about?: NYSC is a program set aside for young graduates by the federal government,that after one's university education you are mandated to serve the country(Nigeria) for a period of one year.

How would this be done?: We have 36 states in my country, so graduates would be deployed into the different states far away from their home town for their National assignment. They will first of all camped in a particular secluded area for three weeks, they will be grouped into groups called "platoon", it can be platoons 1-10 depending on the number of corp members(graduates) they are called "corp members" there not graduates, So note that. Free feeding and accomodations for that three weeks. And they will also be drilled by man'o war as seen from the picture.

The different activities that took place in the camp includes:-
• parade
• dancing competition
• SAED (skill acquisition and enterprenural development), here Corp members are entitled to learn any skill free of charge courtesy from the government. Skills like;
Soap making
Beading
Gele tying
Make-up
Shoe making
Tie and dye
Tailoring
Cake making
Agro allied
Solar installation
Barbing
Education.
There are too numerous to mention, those are the few I can remember.
• carnival
• Then the man'o war drilling.
It is fun and at the same time stressful, because as long as you are in the camp you don't have time of your own. Sometimes you'll be forced to do things you wouldn't want to. Example: going out for parades in the sun.

Then after the three weeks orientation program, you would be posted to each of the local government in that state to carry out your primary assignment.

You can be posted to a school to teach,
To a ministry or anywhere depending on your course of study. That place you'll be serving is called " place of primary assignment(PPA). And you'll be there for a period of one year, then you pass out and be given a certificate called " NYSC discharge certificate", to indicate that you have served the country successfully.

Thank you for visiting my blog
♥️♥️
@tripple-e

I'm inviting my friends @rossnenye @zorajaime @walictd to join in the contest.

Sort:  
 5 months ago 

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

♥️

Loading...
 5 months ago 



We support quality posts and good comments posted anywhere and with any tag.
Curated by : @patjewell

Thank you @steemcurator05 for your support. Happy Sunday

 5 months ago 

Congratulations to you on your man o war, Wow I really love reading your post....

Success in this contest

Thank you dear friend. I'm glad you love

It was a nice story.thanks

Thank you I appreciate

 5 months ago 

What a beautiful picture🌹

I have seen this concept of military training mandatory for every citizen in Korean dramas for the first time.

Now in your country, it must be to produce competitive and active youth? Interesting👏

Yes. There's a scheme in my country called NYSC, meaning, national youth service Corp which is mandatory for every graduate to go through. Thank you for your contribution

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56905.21
ETH 2508.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36