One Picture And One Story Week #16

in Steem For Pakistan9 months ago

New year and traditional marriage celebration.

Just as it is said, pictures tells a story. I am also fond of keeping memories with pictures.
I love taking pictures and I do this a lot, one could say it's my hobby.

Whenever I look at my older pictures, I remember the event that led me to snapping the picture as if it happened recently. I visit all my old pictures most times to motivate myself to do better and work harder because they give me good memories considering where I started, where I am and where I hope to be in the future.

I am really grateful to @suboohi for organizing such an interesting contest

IMG_20240105_165829_6.jpg
This picture was taken from my phone

From the picture above and the dressing attire, you will see know that it's a traditional marriage.
Celebration is something that makes everyone happy and joyful. I was very happy to attend this marriage with my family members, the bribe is my aunt.

It was indeed a double celebration for my family, seeing the new year was a joyous one and also the marriage, all thanks to God. If there is something I learnt the previous year it would be procrastination.

Procrastination is truly a thief of time and I have resolved this year never to procastinate. Procrastination would have made my phone stolen if not for a God sent on the day of the marriage. When I woke up on this 1st of this year, I was very happy and praised God for making me to see a new day and year. I then sat down and looked at all my achievements for that year and discovered that I only achieved 70%, so I set new ones for this year and an amazing strategy to achieve all.

After I was done with my analysis, I prepared myself and left home before 8pm to the place where the women were preparing the food for the occasion, among the foods were rice, pounded yam, afang soup which is among the native soup for the akwa ibom people and so many other meals. After arriving at the scene, I introduced my self and was handed over a plate of rice which I accepted and ate. After eating, I assisted with washing the dishes that were used by people and fetch water.

After finishing the chores, and it was time for the event to begin, I took my bath and changed my clothes and started heading to the event center. The bride and groom were called to dance and performed every due rites. After the couples had finished dancing, the floor was declared open for everyone to come and dance.

People trooped in and started dancing until it was past 6pm and people after eating dispatched to their homes. After all the invitees had gone, I returned home, took my bath and slept off till the next day.

Conclusion

A new year beginning with lots of celebration is actually very memorable and joyful to me.

I would like to invite @bossj23, @emmy01 and @usoro01 to participate in this interesting contest.

Thank you for reading my post.

Sort:  
 9 months ago 

Wow, very interesting story you have told and you have also enjoyed your wedding with your family. I enjoyed reading your story.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60704.11
ETH 2452.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62