"STEEMIT ENGAGEMENT CHALLENGE| S7W5| WRITE A SHORT STORY"

in Steem For Pakistan2 years ago

Hello everyone. I hope we are all doing great. I want to welcome you to my publication of Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 7, Week 5. Today, I'm going to be sharing a story about my friend. It's a real life story.

IMG_20230207_132659.jpg

My friend's name is Grace, she is an intelligent, loving lady. She does her best to make everyone around her smile and happy. We have been friends as far back as Secondary School. We had always talked about how life in and after Tertiary institution would be for us. How we'll be this and that, etc.

IMG_20230207_135116.jpg
Myself and Grace

Fast forward to Tertiary institution, Grace met and fell in love with a young handsome guy who happed to be a student in another faculty. With time, our friendship began to go sideways because she had someone in her life. I respected that and gave her some space.

But, I was worried about her, although she appeared to be having a nice relationship, I noticed all wasn't fine with her. With time Grace started missing lectures and when I reached out, the phone wasn't picked. Sometimes I see her in school but the ever smiling and playful Grace was no more. She just wanted to finish from school and go home.

She missed an exams and that was the height of it. In barely 1 year and 2 months she met this guy, seems like her life has turned upside. So, I decided to locate the guys faculty and find out if I could see anybody that knows him. Luckily, I met his friend who said he knows his house.

I went there with a company and his friend to check up on her, I almost wept at the sight of Grace, luckily he wasn't home. I had a little chat with her and left. Sadly, she was in a domestic violence situation. I left, two days later, she showed up in school and asked if she could follow me home, I agreed and we got home.

On reaching home, she couldn't help but year down as to why she couldn't speak up, that her father used to do same to the mother and them and her mother couldn't speak up due to fear of the unknown. I was lost in tears as to how damaged she was mentally because she said it seemed like her path was not different from her mother's own. I talked to her on the importance of self love.

I called my mother to talk to her, encourage her and pray for her. The good news is that, she hid to advice and left the guy, and she was once again focused on her studies. Three years ago, she found a good man, and she's happy she had a friend like me that looked out for her.

Moral Lesson

Do not settle for less when there's much out there and cherish any good friendship you have. You'll never know when it will come in handy.

I will like to invite @chiomzy810, @benson6 and @goodybest to join this contest. Thank you.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Love is something that is difficult for one to control, especially when you fall in love with someone who does those things that you need. I am sure that is what your friend Grace saw during their time together. Grace shouldn't have paid more attention to love than her studies. You have written well; best of luck to you!

That's very true. Sad she focused all on love than her studies and her life. But I'm happy she's in a good place now in terms of love.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56679.48
ETH 2377.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26