I hate the rain, but only in Karachi!

HI!

I've been frequently called out by friends and family for never having anything positive to say about rain. No matter how hot the weather gets or how bad conditions are in Karachi, I never wish for rain. NEVER!

WhatsApp Image 2024-07-12 at 11.37.07 AM (1).jpeg

This attitude is different than how I used to view rain when I was younger. I spent most of my life living in different areas of Punjab, and as a child I really enjoyed rainy days. I remember cycling in the rain and the gulgulas and pakoras my mother would make every time it poured. As someone who was raised in cantonments with large trees, green parks and good drainage systems, I think my romanticization of rain was a privilege of living in those environments.

THEN WE MOVED TO KARACHI. And my perception of rain took a 180-degree turn!

Growing up in the protected environment of a cantonment area, I was initially sheltered from witnessing the severe effects of rain in Karachi firsthand. As a child, I rarely ventured outside of my cantt and only heard secondhand accounts of any issues occurring elsewhere in the city.

It wasn't until I began attending medical school that the harsh reality truly hit me. Living as an adult in Karachi, I experienced heavy rain situations that revealed the inadequate infrastructure and disastrous consequences. However, 2020 was a real EYE-OPENENER. When rains fell non-stop for 5-6 days straight, the entire city of Karachi was overwhelmed and flooded. I remember watching in horror from the relative safety of my own home as the news showed roads absolutely submerged under water and tragically, people dying due to electrocution. Homes had drowned and some residents were stranded on flooded roadways for two full days with no means of getting home. The extent of the crisis was such that strangers felt compelled to take in displaced people without any way of accessing shelter themselves. Large parts of the city lacked power for many days on end.

WhatsApp Image 2024-07-12 at 11.37.07 AM.jpegWhatsApp Image 2024-07-12 at 11.37.08 AM.jpeg

In that moment, I came to understand rain could not truly be considered a blessing in Karachi. The inability of the drainage systems to handle heavy rain and resulting widespread CHAOS in the entire city illuminated for me how ill-prepared the infrastructure of Karachi is. Now when others say they are praying for rain, I cannot help but feel they must be privileged enough to be oblivious to the harsh realities rain brings to this city. The infrastructure is overloaded and unable to handle heavy downpours. Flooding causes major disruption, traffic jams and damage to property. People's lives are at risk of disease from contaminated water. My current situation has understandably shaped a more negative perspective compared to my carefree childhood memories of rain. While others continue finding joy in the rain, I struggle to share their sentiment given what I've witnessed of its detrimental effects in the city where I now reside.

Whenever it rains now in Karachi, there is a ton of things going on in my mind. "Will the power break down? How long will it be out for? Will the roads be blocked? Will I be able to leave my home at all? Will the UPS work the entire time? I have a lot of pending work, will I be able to complete it in these conditions?"
Call it my PTSD, but this is what goes through ANY KARACHIITE as soon as it starts to rain! and if you can't relate, you are either not from Karachi or someone who is privileged enough to not witness the harsh realities YET!

I will sad for MY CITY, which has been abandoned by the authorities! I feel sad for the people who live here, but wo kehtey hain na "JESI AWAM, WESE HUKUMRAAN!"

Yours Truly,
@kinzaghauri

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44