My Favorite Science Subject

1000004174.jpg
Flask in the laboratory : Image by master1305 on Freepik

My Favorite Science Subject


Have you ever looked into a chemistry class when the teacher is carring the students through a lesson that require practical participation and everyone is busy, dressed in lab robes with equipments like flasks and tubes, googled faces and gloved hands, mixing, watching and recording.

This is what it looks like when a chemistry class is having impact and the students are having a great time with their learning.

Why Chemistry?

When I got in to secondary school, I could not wait to meet the much talked about chemistry class and the experiments. I liked seeing the students in their white robs. But I still had a little over three years before I could touch any tube or light a burner. Chemistry classes start in senior secondary which I could only look in to the lab but was not allowd in. Three years of waiting.

I remember the first day in the lab, we all ran in to take the front row and to me it was a dream come true. I was hoping we will start mixing stuff immediately

1000004176.jpg
The periodic table: Image by pikisuperstar on Freepik

This was when I got to understand this table, and the teacher worked hard to help us see chemistry happening in our homes, in the kitchen and everywhere around us.

Yes I loved chemistry but it may have had a lot to do with the teacher and his methods. It could have started with the stories I heard my older siblings say about the subject, though its good I was not disappointed when I finally had to meet chemistry.

I still love Chemistry

I still see it all around me, in the kitchen when baking bread, on the road and side walks, in rusted metals, in the hospital and the drugs we take, in the food we eat and the body we live in and in the events that happened around us.

It is that subject that explains what things are made of and why they behave the way they do.
Why some balloons fly and some don't. Why the stone sink but the ship flotes and why oil and water can't mix at all.

1000004177.jpgDoctors are Chemistry's children Freepik Image

Conclusion

Tell me, do you know that hydrogen is highly explosive and oxygen supports burning?

But water, made of both hydrogen and oxygen will turn off a fire. If you have ever asked why. Chemistry has the why? And that is why I love chemistry.

Contest invitation

I am inviting @patjewell, @goodybest and @eliany and I appreciate @sahar78 for organizing this interesting contest.

To read more about me
Achievement-1

Sort:  

#idontlikescience
Nope! Science was not made for me. (•ิ‿•ิ)
Give me history and I am as happy as a pig in Palestine.

Good luck and thanks for the invite.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60583.13
ETH 2342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48