Weekly Contest - Best Diary Game | Nsit Ibom Cultural Day

in Steem For Pakistan8 months ago

1703188316903.jpg

Hello everyone and seasons greetings to all of us. Every day is a great, but some days are really really special. For me the 21st day of December 2023 was special for me and here is why...


After making plans to go for the Nsit Ibom Cultural day, I had a goodnight sleep. I woke up pretty late to the sound of my friend's voice. She had come to get an assignment I did for her. I rushed to brush and then got the assignment for her. She was grateful and decided to get breakfast for me. I was also grateful for the gift.

I had breakfast after the morning chores and I slept again. My alarm rang by 1pm and I knew it was time to go for the Nsit Ibom Cultural day.


1703188359244.jpg

In Akwa Ibom state, Nigeria, we are celebrating and discovering more about the state by showing cultural displays. There are 31 local government areas in Akwa Ibom and each day from December 1st was allocated to each local government area. This allocation was done in alphabetical order.

So every day a particular Local government area will come out with different displays of their foods, cultures and traditions. This is done to spice up the Christmas Celebration in the state.

So today was Nsit Ibom's turn to display their culture. I am from Nsit Ibom, so I joined the display at the Christmas village.

I left home after preparing myself... I boarded a tricycle and in no time, I arrived the Christmas village.

1703188359306.jpg


On arriving the Nsit Ibom stand, I was welcomed by the dancing group, some young maidens who were prepared to give us nice dancing steps. It was really colourful. So I started taking pictures voluntarily to have a greater feeling of this wonderful day.
There were a lot of things that were brought to showcase the rich culture of Nsit Ibom. Different foods like Ikpon ye afia efere (pounded cocoyam and white soup), otô mboro (banana porridge), Nteñ, and ukom (plantain) which are rich in nutrients were displayed. Farm produce were also displayed to show the rich land of Nsit Ibom.


1703188316999.jpg1703188359144.jpg

There was also display of different talents; a young man moulded a pot from just sand and aluminium. Wow, that was mind blowing. I was surprised that they knew how to do that with crude tools.

PXL_20231221_161122706.jpgPXL_20231221_175458170.PORTRAIT.jpg

The production of the pot took around 2 hours to accomplish but it was a beautiful sight to behold. That was a great show of skills.


They also displayed dances and also history by displaying the Masquerade, which was the police used to maintain law and order in the past.

1703188349824.jpg

People are still afraid of the masquerade because how fiery it looks. But it means no harm to the people. It was just used to show case the rich history of the State.

1703188911471.jpg


Nsit Ibom sons and daughters took a walk around to showcase the human resources also present in the State.

The event was colourful and I was very happy to identify with the people of Nsit Ibom

1703188850258.jpg

After a while, it was dark and the event closed for the day.

1703188349840.jpg

I walked down the road, boarded a tricycle. I arrived home late, showed the pictures to my Dad who was very eager to see how the day went.

I had dinner before taking my bath and retired for the day with my phone.

My day was wonderful and I am happy I went for the Nsit Ibom Cultural Day presentation.

Thanks for going through my post.

I have given 25% beneficiary to @null to make steem stronger.

I invite @davidmarkgeorge, @imohmitch and @bossj23 to participate in this Contest.

Sort:  
Loading...
 8 months ago 

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 8 months ago 

Congratulations! This publication has been supported through the Steemcurator06 account for containing good quality content.
Curated by: @karianaporras

 8 months ago 

This is really a good sight to behold, indeed we have rich culture which makes us peculiar

 7 months ago 

It is really looking amazing day and I am happy and wondering to see another culture from your post. Wearing dresses of same colour and design is looking very impressive. And it was a great day in which you visited different foods and saw new talents.

 7 months ago 

hello dear @johnmitchel what a vibrant and culturally rich day you had at the Nsit Ibom Cultural Day! Your detailed descriptions and captivating images beautifully captured the essence of the event. It's heartwarming to see communities celebrating their heritage and traditions. The display of foods, talents, and historical elements adds depth to the cultural showcase. Your storytelling creates a vivid picture, making readers feel like they were part of the festivities a delightful recounting of a special day filled with cultural pride and joy...

 7 months ago 

Thank you very much for your detailed description of my post. The event was a great one too. I appreciate your kind words too.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32