"One Picture And One Story Week #46"

in Steem For Pakistan2 months ago

Hello, Steemians from all over the globe, Greetings to you all. I trust you all are doing well and super fantastic, as for me, I am very great.
Today is Tuesday, and I'll be sharing with you my post in the Pakistan Community by @suboohi, thank you ma for the amazing contest and I hope that you all will enjoy reading my post. Thank you

My Story

IMG_20240731_105227_568.jpg

Some months back, I noticed we had grass growing rapidly inside my compound, so I decided to get rid of it. I asked around and found someone who could do it.

I brought him to the compound and showed him around. He said he would clear it for 4K, but we could also negotiate.

I was surprised because the work seemed too much for that amount. So, I told him we would pay him 5K instead, he agreed and was very happy with me and he ran off to get his working tools, he came back, and was almost starting.

I asked him to wait and confirmed if he had something to eat and he said no, that he hadn't eaten since the evening before.

I quickly prepared breakfast for him and what he had was bread with pap.

What surprised me the most in this story is that immediately after I served him the breakfast, tears came to his eyes. So I asked him why is he crying and he told me and he said to me that for the past 2 days, he hadn't eaten food and that even now that he was about to start my work, he didn't have a single strength in him. I felt very bad to hear such a story from him and I was touched.

When he finished eating, he picked up his tools and worked enthusiastically with all his heart. At intervals, I would stop what I was doing inside to check on him. Sometimes, we would chat and laugh. Though, he was a funny man.

When he finished for the day, he said that he would come back the next day to pack the grass because he was very tired and u said to him, no problem.

I gave him the 5k as promised, he was so happy and I was also happy to put a smile on someone's face.

He was excited. I told him to take my contact so he could reach me before coming the next day. He said he would have loved to, but he didn't have a phone.

He said he sold it two weeks back so he could eat. All he had left was his SIM. I felt his pain, but I remembered I had a Nokia phone that I wasn't using, so I gave it to him.

After he received the phone from my hand, tears rolled from his eyes instantly. He said one of the deepest "God Bless You" and he confirmed to me that he never received a gift from anyone during this period of hardship.

I told him not to worry, there is time for everything and I assured him that his time will soon come by God's grace. So.

And for me, I was so happy with the work that he did for me, he took his time and did the needful.

It was another day and he came as he promised me, he continued the remaining task with so much passion that I could see it all over him. So finally, he finished the task. After he finally finished the task successfully, I shared some rice I had left with him for breakfast.

He appreciated me endlessly and left.

After two weeks we met, I got a call from him, and he gave me great news. He said his former boss, who had relocated from Kaduna to Abuja, reached him on the phone the same day he inserted his SIM into the phone I gave him.

His boss told him he had been trying hard to reach him for weeks to no avail.

The boss sent him 150,000 Naira that he should fix himself and used the remaining money for his transport because he had to resume work again.

At this point, I was so happy I was even happier than he was. He ended the call with these words:

Perpetual, if I hadn't met you, this opportunity would have passed me by."

This time I was the one that tears dropped from my eyes.

My Experience

It feels good to do good
It also feels good to always applaud people when they carry out duties for me.

I have learned to always do the little things I can do to change people's lives. It might seem little to me but it might be the answer to their long-standing heart desires.

These acts of kindness may not necessarily come in monetary forms.

Finally, why I choose to share this story with you is that I want to encourage people to always help others in their little way, who knows, that little gift might result in a dream come through for the person you help.

I want to invite @josepha @dave-hanny and @simonnwigwe

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 months ago 

Indeed God work in mysterious ways.. imagine, if he had not come in contact with you, that’s how he would have been passing through agony!

May God bless you for this act of kindness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62516.71
ETH 2436.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65