"One Picture And One Story Week #42".

DO IT RIGHT

It's been awhile guys and I'm glad to share this with you all.

Growing up as a child, I was assigned to some routine house chores which is a common phenomenon in most African homes. My siblings also had their own responsibilities. At this time, we were living in a terraced apartment that had a playing ground with lots of children of my age bracket.

IMG_20240706_094158_108.jpg

As a child, I always do my best to please my parents to avoid being disfigured by their angry touches but there were some times I got punished whenever I broke the rules of the game. My mom especially never tolerated nonsense from us though most times she might wave out our misbehavior(s) but would tell you that your cup is not yet full. I love playing with friends in and around my neighborhood.

I could remember one fateful day when I returned from school, l got into the house, took-off my school uniform, brought out my football and we played happily and energetically ignoring the dishes I was supposed to do after having my lunch.

The game was getting interesting when I cited my mom from a distance just like other times but this time around it was too late because she had seen me already; I simply concluded that I'm in for it and I accepted my fate with pity.

At this point, there was nothing my friends could do other than to console me in advance which I also accepted. This experiences were quite funny because most times if my friends cited my mom before I do they will signal me quickly to run away from the playground or improvise hideout.

When it comes to working as a team, I must give kudos to children, there were some other times where my mom will call out my name, if I was playing when I shouldn't,my friends, if they have their way will throw me into the city of refuge and they will lied to my mom that I'm playing with them and sometimes this tactic works out, though all these wasn't right to do.

I was really dealt with that day, though I screamed for help from neighbours. When they arrived they couldn't get me out of my mom's hand because she had locked the door, but after much pleading she decided to stop the random beatings. By the time I got out , my friends were waving their hands at me which was a way of saying sorry.

My head and other parts of my body were swollen . I was so angry with my mom and begins to murmur words like, i will leave this house one day and not return. After the beatings, if she needs my help I'll do whatever she wants haphazardly with a bonface.

These keep reoccurring until I decided to turn a new live when I discovered that such lifestyle would get me no where and after realizing that she really meant well for me and my siblings.

I really appreciate all she did to put me on the right track but parents should be mindful of the object they use on their children in the name of discipline or punishment in as much as I will never be in support of sparing the rod and spoiling the child.

Children should also know that no good parent will wish them bad. They should therefore do what they are expected to do at the appropriate time to avoid been provoked by their parents.

I'm inviting @leight @nsijoro @dirapa @mesola to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
 5 days ago 

Thanks for your participation. Best of luck for the contest.

It's a pleasure...thank you

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39