Weekly Contest - Best Diary Game 20/7/2024/I Missed My Mother

in Steem For Pakistan7 days ago (edited)

VISITING MY MOTHER

It's been almost two months and I've not seen my mother so I decided to visit her for the weekend. I was so happy to see her when I arrived home on Friday night.
IMG_20240720_113943.jpg

MY SATURDAY MORNING

My Saturday was engaging. I woke up early and clean the whole house. After cleaning I helped my mum boil her bathing water and told her that we needed to go the shop early so I can sew a dress for myself.

My mum is seamstress and I grew up helping her sew clothes in her shop which made me know how to sew. My sister often calls me a jack of all trade because I can sew cloth and plait hair but my favourite skill is make-up💄

We prepared, had our breakfast and went to the shop. On arrival at the shop, I went to check and buy the fabric which I would use to sew my dress.

MY MIDDAY

I started sewing my 👗. Being that I'm not a professional seamstress, it took me almost the whole day to finish one dress. My steps in sewing included:

Step one: Cutting. I would have said measuring first but I already have my measurement so I went straight to cutting the material to my desired shape and style.

Step two: I joined the black materials first.

Step three: I joined the pink material and attached it to the black fabric.
IMG_20240720_115849.jpg

Step four: I tried my dress on after finishing.

By the time I finished sewing it was about 4pm in Nigerian time. My mum went to the market for food stuffs. When she return we headed home.

MY EVENING

I had to prepare dinner. I was going to cook vegetable soup known as "Edikangikong" in my language with a tripod and firewood. It has been a while since I cooked with firewood but with my mum, she believes that "food cooked with firewood is the sweetest."
IMG_25670720_192230.jpg

The ingredients I used were:

  1. Fluted pumpkin leaf.
  2. Water leaf.
  3. Meat.
  4. Stockfish.
  5. Pepper.
  6. Crayfish.
  7. Onions.
  8. Maggi.
  9. Salt.
  10. Palm oil.

STEPS IN PREPARATION

Step one: I washed the meat and stockfish into the pot and sliced onions into it with seasoning cubes and salt.
IMG_25670720_191857.jpg

Step two: I picked, washed and cut the pumpkin leaves and onions.
IMG_25670720_192356.jpg

Step three: I picked, washed and cut the water leaves and small onions.
IMG_25670720_192405.jpg

Step four: I pounded pepper and crayfish together.
IMG_25670720_192415.jpg

And everything is ready for cooking.

COOKING STEPS

  1. I boiled water and made garri first.
  2. I seasoned the meat and stockfish together.
  3. I poured the water leaf into the pot after the meat is well cooked.
  4. I added my pounded crayfish and pepper, maggi, salt and oil.
  5. I added my pumpkin leaf last and stir together and took down the pot. And the food was ready.

IMG_25670720_204137.jpg
I dished and ate with my mum. I was happy spending time with my mum after a long while. I missed her gist and we had enough gist before going to sleep.

I invite @kuzboy @blessedbee and @joymm to participate.

Thanks for reading my post.

Sort:  
Loading...
 6 days ago 

Hello friend,

It was interesting going through your days activities.

You had quite a busy day and I like the fact you were able to complete your task for the day .

I appreciate the steps shown while sewing, you did really great and your clthe is beautiful.

Looking at your soup now, just reminded me of how much I miss eating vegetable soup.
Will eat that enough when I visit my mom at home too.

I wish you all the best in this contest .

 6 days ago 

Thank you my friend for your kind words.

Thank you for complimenting my dress.

Vegetable soup is very healthy so you need to eat it please.

 6 days ago 

Thank you very much. I really appreciate this curation and recognition.

 6 days ago 

Every moment with mothers is a sweet and a happy moment to us the children and i am glad that you spent happy moments with your mom. I wish you success in your entry

 3 days ago 

Thank you dear friend.

Wow I must say you really enjoyed spending time with your mum.you have helped her a lot All through the day. I believe the bond between you guys is so special. I would have loved to taste your edikan ekong soup because it's my favorite soup. Well you had a great day , best luck in the contest.

 3 days ago 

Yes I did enjoy every moment I spent with my mother.

I would gladly give a plate of the soup.
Thank you so much friend.

Your welcome dear friend

This is a beautiful diary, from sewing to cooking. The soup looks delicious, I hope you have kept my portion.

 3 days ago 

Next time I will sure keep a portion for you. Thanks my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70