"Contest Alert!!!||"Domestic Violence".

in Steem For Pakistan2 months ago

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE


Hello everyone. It's my pleasure to chip in my ideas on this topic. Thanks to the organizer of this contest @abdulahw2.

What do you know about Domestic Violence? Explain in 2 paragraphs.

Domestic violence does not only affect a particular group of people, gender or culture but It can affect anyone regardless. Violence is any action that can cause pain or harm to someone while domestic is a term used to refer to a home. Therefore domestic violence is referred to actions that causes harm to members of a household.
pexels-rdne-6669851.jpgSource

Domestic violence can refer to abusive behaviour between intimate partners, parent and children, etc. It can occur in different ways affecting both intimate partners and family members. Domestic violence has to do with behaviours that hurt, frighten, intimidate or humiliate a person. Domestic violence can lead to serious injuries or even death in some cases.

Briefly Explain at least three main types of domestic Violence.

There are many types of domestic violence but I will only explain the three types that are common in my society. They includes:

  1. Physical Violence: Just as the word implies, physical has to do with the body. This kind of abuse is one that the perpetrator uses the body to cause harm to the victim. This usually happens between couple where the man uses a weapon like stick, belt or wire to beat a woman or even destroys thier properties in the house.
    pexels-pixabay-163431.jpgSource
    I have heard about women who died as a result of physical abuse in my country and even had an uncle that used to abuse his wife physically. When he died I was partially happy because I knew that his wife will not suffer again.

  2. Verbal Abuse: Verbal abuse is when a person is being assaulted with awful words. The perpetrators often puts down your accomplishments, makes fun of you in front of their friends, tells you that you are nothing without them and blames you for their failure.
    pexels-keira-burton-6147132.jpgSource
    They are capable of making humiliating remarks on your intelligence and your body image. I have seen many cases of verbal abuse around my neighbourhood.

  3. Child Abuse: I have heard about many cases of child abuse in my State. One of it is the one that the uncle of a child was abusing the child which was left in his care sexually. Imagine keeping your girl child with your brother to help you care for while you go to the market and you come back to catch him trying to rob his manhood into a little girl's vagina. This can be killing and I pray I should never encounter this. This kind of abuse usually make children to have low self esteem and poor academic performance.
    pexels-pixabay-236215.jpgSource

Why is it important to raise awareness about domestic violence in society?

It is very important to raise awareness about domestic violence because domestic violence can cause the following; injuries, risk of smoking, drinking alcohol, drug abuse, mental illness, death, suicide, chronic disease, crime and so on. In order to prevent these issues, people should do well to raise awareness about domestic violence in our neigbourhood.
pexels-mart-production-7699377.jpgSource

Have you ever seen a real case of domestic Violence in your life? Tell us about it.

I have seen a cases of domestic violence and I have witnessed my uncle beating up his wife before during the time we were living in our family compound. I have also seen my neighbour verbally abusing his girlfriend, calling her all sort of degrading names. I have had a child in my class when I was teaching who confided in me that her elder brother use to put his finger in her vagina. She said the brother always buys her biscuit and sweet and asked her not to tell the parents about what he use to do.

CONCLUSION


Domestic violence is not something we should encourage in our community. When we see any form of abuse around us, we should take a bold step and report to the appropriate authorities in our society. Government should also set out rules guiding the punishment for perpetrators of domestic violence in our society. I believe if there are known penalties which are announced on radio and television stations regarding perpetrators of domestic violence, people will be more mindful of their actions.

I invite
@blessedbee
@Perpetaul
@Jes88

Thanks for reading my post💕

Sort:  

Hello @beevicsam , you have written so well about domestic violence, I have learnt so many things from your post, in Nigeria the government have set laws regulating domestic abuse such as in rape cases, any body found engaging in such disgusting conduct will sure pay for it, so it is very important to educate people on awareness, they have to create awareness so that such individual should not go unpunished.

 2 months ago 

Yes my friend. Thanks foe reading my post💗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67724.53
ETH 2606.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72