Contest: "Share Your Childhood Memories"

in Steem For Pakistanlast year
I have most precious childhood memories in my Grandparents's home from maternal side. We used to go there, whenever summer or winter vacations were announced. My father was in abroad when i was a kid, that's why we used to live there for months.

The whole summer vacations were utilised playing outdoor games, making clay toys, running in the streets with my besties.

IMG-20220222-WA0010.jpg

Mornings used to start with Arabic lesson followed by early Breakfast and later tution for summer task.

At noon, everyone would gather for lunch and sit on the carpet. I used to bought Chapati from a Tandoor, which was on the left street from our house.

Afternoons were spent under the trees outside the house eating icecreams and Gola.

Taking pictures in Camera Which had reels inside it, and developing them afterwards were very common. Thanks to those cameras that we can still live in 90s through those pictures.

20230528_192806.jpg

There was a tape recorder as you can see in the picture. This tape had many cassettes of songs. It had many recordings of my dado and dada Abu singing folksongs. I grew up listening to them, in fact i still have it in my house as an antique.

All the birthdays of me and my siblings were celebrated there. It was an era of 90s and the birthday celebrations were different as compared to now a days.

IMG-20230530-WA0015.jpg

This is my birthday pictures which was properly celebrated for the first time.
All the relatives were gathered there in the evening wearing their fancy clothes. Women wore silk dresses mostly, seems it was in fashion in 90s.

I cut the cake with my mother standing beside me. I had a younger sister less than a year old at that time. I still remember she was sleeping during the celebration. That's why the whole function went smoothly, otherwise it could have spolied.

IMG-20230530-WA0016.jpg

IMG-20230530-WA0014.jpg

Because, children had this weird habit of getting offended, seeing another child cutting a cake on their birthdays.

On that, their moms used to say because it's their birthday baby. On which these offended kids would say, i also have my birthday, i wanna cut the cake too(crying in the background).

At the end, cakes were usually cut by the birthday kid and 49 others.

My younger sister was like these kids. Hahaha

IMG-20230530-WA0012.jpg

My mother used to get our clothes stitched identical to each other. Only difference in some clothes were the scarf, which only i would get as an elder child. While taking pictures, if i am wearing that scarf, she would get offended, saying why she isn't wearing any.

So my Mother would make our turns in which one sister would wear the scarf and the other one will not.

As i grew older i was always attached to the cousins of my age from paternal side.
Gradually, i refused to go with my mother to nani's home, to have fun with my cousins back home.

An incident happened, when i was in 2nd or 3rd grade. The plan was to go to my nani's home from the school. I refused to go and asked my Mother to take my younger sister and brother with her.
She tried to persue me to go with her but i refused. I wanted to have fun with my cousins. My mother went while she was angry with me.

When the school was off i was to go with my cousins. Many stalls were present on the street. One of my cousins bought a packet having water and two little fish inside it.

Buying fish and colorful chicks were the culture.

I was scared of the fish, so i refused to sit with them inside the rikshaw. My two cousins were sitting inside the rikshaw, one of them was holding the fish. I asked the uncle to let me sit with him on the front seat.

He agreed. Our whole journey went peacefully. Rikshaw was going on the empty street with trees on both sides. There was a water channel on left side of the road.

IMG-20220501-WA0004.jpg

Empty Road

Screenshot_2022-08-30-09-05-09-1-1.png

Water Channel

While sitting on the front, i just tilted my head to look inside the rikshaw. My cousin forwarded the fish towards me to scare me or tease me, i don't know.

Only thing I know is that, i jumped out of the rikshaw out of fear (it was a reflex action) and i lost consciousness.

Next time i opened my eyes when my whole family was gathered around me. The called my Mother and she came with my nano. They took me to the hospital and i got couple of injections. After that they took me to nani's home, where my aunt was reciting the Quran, they divided candies in the children for my good health.

All of them seeing me as if it was my mistake which got me in trouble. Like i didn't do as my Mother asked, but finally i reached the nani's home but with injured body.

After this incident, i never disobeyed her when it comes to go to her mother's home, until i became an adult.

P.S:Funny thing that my rikshaw uncle told me multiple times:
My cousin threw those fish in the water channel out of fear that all would blame her for my accident.
I laughed every time when they told me how i was reacting in my unconsciousness
.

Inviting @seapearl @sawera1 @nafeela

Sort:  

That's nice they finally took you to your nanis house. but yes 90's fashion had some real fashion skills, the elegancy and charm could be seen in every single dress of that time.

 last year 

Absolutely, classic fashion sense was a thing in itself💫

 last year 

Congratulations...


Your quality content follows the Team 4 curation guidelines.

BRINGING MUSIC TO YOUR EARS.gif

Curated by : @radjasalman

 last year 

Your childhood memories are so beautiful and interesting that I lost myself reading them. All these things will take me back to my childhood. Maybe the children of the 90s were like that. They had the same hobbies. What we have enjoyed, that time may not come again, but their fond memories will always be with us. Many good wishes to you ❤️

 last year 

Yes indeed, 90s kids have the same memories, we discuss them on and off with smiles on our face and longings in our heart❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57378.99
ETH 3121.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24