"Contest Alert !!! || "Domestic Violence".

in Steem For Pakistan2 months ago
915FB057-0E6A-4FAA-A881-8267AC41C0B1.jpeg
Designed on canva

A scream jerked me out of my sleep. I felt a little panic as I checked my time, it was 4am in the morning.

Who could be shouting by this time of the morning. What’s the matter? Many thoughts began to rummage through my mind. I was still hazy with sleep not sure of what to think of. I laid down back on my bed to sleep and the scream came again. This time louder.

I jumped up from bed, the scream was coming from the next room close to me. It was my neighbor. What could be making her scream so loud by this time of the morning? I started to unlock my door as I heard other neighbors unlocking their doors too. We all heard the scream.

I and four other of the neighbors came out that early early to the neighbors door as the shouting increased. It was then it all dawned on us, she was been beaten by her boyfriend. I continue believe my eyes. That’s domestic violence.

What do you know about Domestic Violence? Explain in 2 paragraphs.

A59B579D-2649-4280-B52E-D449A3540E66.jpegsource

Domestic violence is the act of handling family members or intimate partners in a violent or abusive way. When a partner in an initiate relationship or a family member tries to gain control over the other partner through violence or an abusive behavior, it’s domestic violence.

This is usually seen among husbands and wives, dating partners, ex- husbands or wives and even boy friends and girl friends just like in the case I was narrating above. Sometimes this can be seen among parents and children too.

Briefly Explain at least three main types of domestic Violence.

Domestic violence comes in different ways;

  • The first in the list is Physical abuse. This includes hitting, slapping, battering, bitting, shoving, punching, cutting with objects, pulling of hair and all manner of physical things that can cause harm to the body.

The abuser in other to gain dominance of the abused tries to attack them physically into subjecting to their detects.

  • Another form of domestic violence is sexual abuse. This happens when the abused is forced into having sexual relationship or sexual behaviors with the abuser without their consent.

This can come in form of physical violence accompanied by sex, marital rape, attacking sexual parts and sexually demeaning someone.

  • The third is emotional abuse. This happens when the abuser always invalidates the feelings of the abused thereby deflating their self worth.

This comes about through constant name calling and criticism which affects their self esteem and hampers people’s abilities. This is mostly seen between parents and their children.

There are other form of domestic violence such as financial abuse, psychological abuse and even stalking.

Why is it important to raise awareness about domestic violence in society?

DAD4693A-CF6A-4BE7-BF1B-CAF1854FE0B5.jpeg
source

A lot of people are victims of domestic violence in the society. These people are dying in silence not knowing that there is help out there for them.

It’s important to raise awareness so that people can easily seek help when they are facing situations of domestic violence.

This menace has eaten deep into the society and has coursed many dangerous damages to people and family and even death on extreme cases.

Have you ever seen a real case of domestic Violence in your life? Tell us about it.

The story I told in the beginning is just one out of the many cases I’ve witnessed. When we gathered at the door and demanded that the guy open the door. He refused. He continued beating the girl friend despite her shout for help and saying she wanted to come out because he has locked the door while beating her up.

We all gathered at the door and started threatening to call the police if he doesn’t open the door and let the girl out. That was how he stopped beating her and opened the door.

She came out all bruised. It was then I learnt from the neighbors that he has been beating her since mid night and I didn’t hear because I was deep in sleep.

Another real life situation that trended last year was the death of a music celebrity in my country who was a victim of domestic violence. The husband was abusing her physically and no one knew.

She never spoke up to anyone. It was only when he had beaten her to a critical point of been hospitalized that the story came out. She died in the hospital leaving behind three young children.

No one should ever condone domestic violence, it should be exposed and trashed while it’s still early to avoid extreme cases like the one I narrated above.

Thank you @abdullahw2 for such an interesting topic. I ask @ruthjoe, @ngoziz996 and @christyshona to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Perpetrators of domestic violence should pay for their sin. Imagine beating up a woman for about five hours, that's wickedness. I am in support of sensitizing society to the protection from violence government has put in place, this will help curb domestic violence.

 2 months ago 

Well said friend. Thanks for the valid comment on my post

 2 months ago 

 2 months ago 

Thank you @ruthjoe for the support 🌝🤗🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71