Biggest Event In My Area Van's US Open of Surfing

in SoCal Steemit4 years ago

surfing2212948_1280.jpg

Source

I live in Huntington Beach, California so as one can imagine we have a lot of events at the beach. So when the team @steemitblog asked us to talk about the Biggest even of the year in our area I thought it would be fun to take part. The one that I wanted to talk about is the Van's US Open of Surfing It has gone by a few different names but started out in 1959 as the West Coast Surfing Champions. My town has a nickname that made me pick this event. Surf City USA. I have to admit that I don't surf but I do love going to the beach. I have been to this event a few times and it always a lot of fun. People come from all over the world to compete and watch the best surfers in the world compete. While the surf isn't the best in the world the weather and location are great.

summerparty4236274_1280.jpg

Source

Currently, this event has become more than just a Surfing competition. It is now also a surfing lifestyle festival. It goes on for a few days and is attending by around 500,000 a year. It also brings a lot of money into my hometown. This year with Covid-19 we are looking at fewer people coming. The even is still planned at this time and I don't see that changing. The surfers haven't stopped surfing in Huntington even when the State told them to stop. Our local police said they wouldn't ticket anymore so the surfers just kept going. There is a spirt in our town that some don't like but we love our freedoms. Sometimes it makes some of us look bad but overall I am proud of it.

This event has been going on for over 70 years now and I don't see it stopping anytime soon. It has had a bit of a troubled past but they changed a lot about the event to avoid that. It is free to attend. You get to learn a lot about the surfers and spend a day at the beach. There is good food and fancy hotels in the area to stay at.

beach1853549_1280.jpg

Source

If you are in the area August 1 to 9 you should think about spending some time at the event. While COVID is going to be a reason not to go it is all outdoors and it should be hot. Making this event one that is safer than any indoor events. Well, I hope you enjoyed my post about this event in my hometown and I hope some of you take part in this fun challenge.

image.png

Sort:  

Thanks @stever82 for sharing your story and your care for @steemingcurators.

Thank you for being awesome! You just got upvoted by the @steemingcurators. We are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator02 account to support the best content on Steemit!

Want to participate in contests and challenges to earn more?
Follow @steemingcurators and also the official @steemitblog for info about Steemit and the Daily Diary Challenge!

We hope you like live music too because STEEMIT OPEN MIC IS BACK!
STEEM ON!

Thanks a lot, guys this project is so cool to see on steem. I will take a look at the open mic challenge.

Thank you for taking part in the latest 100 Days of Steem Challenge.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

Thank you I will keep looking for the ones I can do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54