My California - Crowder Canyon

in SoCal Steemitlast year


City Creek cover.jpg

For this weeks Show Us Your California contest by @socalsteemit I head out for a short hike up...

Crowder Canyon!!

SoCal divider.jpg

I headed up the 15 fwy to the junction with the 138 in the Cajon pass. From the exit I headed down passed the McDonalds to where the Pacific Crest Trail crosses underneath the 15. I parked there and then headed north on the trail up into Crowder canyon. It's not a huge canyon, but what it lacks in size it makes up for with its rugged beauty. The creek that runs through the canyon is also quite small, and is usually completely dried up, but with the wet winter we've had here, it was flowing good. And there were many blooming wildflowers all throughout the canyon as well. Making for a very pleasant hike.


image.png
PCT trail sign


image.png
The tunnel where the PCT crosses under the 15 frwy


IMG_20230514_160858.jpg
Heading up canyon


image.png
Wildflowers along the trail


image.png
Rugged canyon scenery


IMG_20230514_161826.jpg

IMG_20230514_161922.jpg

Wildflowers

At the upper end of the canyon it starts to widen out and the deep and narrow rugged canyon changes into a wide and shallow meadow filled channel through open rolling hills. Eventually the trail comes to a crossing with a dirt road. And from there I left the PCT and followed the dirt road up to where it ended at a big metal power line tower where I got some nice views overlooking the canyon.


image.png
Where the canyon widens out


image.png
Hiking through the grass and chaparral covered rolling hills


image.png
More wildflowers


image.png
Arriving at the dirt road


image.png
Open meadows


image.png
The big metal power line tower


image.png
Views south from the tower


image.png
Views north from the tower

From the tower I turned around and headed back down the dirt road into the canyon where the road crossed the creek. From there I decided to follow the creek back down the canyon instead of taking the trail. Which was obviously a bit more challenging, but also more exciting. And to add to the excitement I came upon a rattlesnake sunbathing on a rock. And not much further downstream I ran into another one right next to the water! Needless to say I was a little nervous after that and had my eyes open looking out for anymore snakes, but luckily didn't end up seeing anymore. The rest of the hike back was really enjoyable, hiking right next to the little creek. I was really glad I decided to get out. This hike was kind of a last minute decision and it ended up being a good one.


image.png
First rattlesnake


image.png
Wildflowers


image.png
Hiking along the creek


image.png
The second rattlesnake


image.png
Rattlesnake close up


image.png
Small cascades along the creek


image.png
Getting almost back to the trailhead

And so until next time...

I hope you have enjoyed this glimpse into

My California!!


Crowder thanks.jpg

all photos by @derekrichardson

cma new banner yellow.png

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg

Sort:  

Awesome hike! Those snakes me nervous!! 🤪

Congratulations, your post won 2nd prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50