My California - Snow Summit

in SoCal Steemit3 years ago


SnowSummitcover.png

For this weeks Show Us Your California contest by @socalsteemit I head up into the San Bernardino mountains for a snowboarding trip to...

Snow Summit!!

SoCal divider.jpg

Although spring has started here in California there is still a good amount of snow left up in the mountains. But it won't be there for long and I'm trying to get in a few last days of snowboarding for the season. So I threw my board in the truck and headed up the hill to Big Bear, CA. There are two ski resorts in Big Bear, and my season pass works at both of them, but on this trip I decided to checkout Snow Summit. I got a parking spot, then I threw on my helmet and goggles, grabbed my board, and headed up onto the mountain.


GOPR1653.png

Getting to the base of the mountain


GOPR1657.png

Riding up Chair 1


GOPR1658.png

Selfie on Chair 1


GOPR1659.png

Views from Chair 1


GOPR1662.png

The top of Chair 1


GOPR1661.png

The Skyline Taphouse on top of the mountain

The morning was beautiful. Absolutely perfect weather. But about midday the breeze picked up and started blowing in some clouds. It got a bit colder and it was a bit harder to see with my dark goggle lenses in the dimmer light. But it was nothing intolerable and so I just kept hitting runs all over the mountain. And since it was midweek there was hardly anyone there so I almost never had to wait in any lift lines, which was super nice and made it easy for me to get in lots of runs!


GOPR1666.png

Chair 7 from Log Chute run


GOPR1670.png

Views of Big Bear Lake


GOPR1692.png

Lunchtime activity at the base of the mountain


GOPR1675.png

Riding up chair 6


GOPR1679.png

The top of chair 7


GOPR1678.png
Snow Summit trail map

After a full day of shredding the slopes I headed back home, but not without a quick stop at the lake shore first! And I'm planning to get back up there next week for some shredding at the other resort Bear Mountain, so if all goes as planned my ski season isn't quite over yet!

Until next time...

I hope you have enjoyed this glimpse into

My California!!

SnowSummitthanks.png

SoCal divider.jpg

all photos by @derekrichardson

cma new banner yellow.png

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg


Walkwithmebaner.png

Dividerbar.jpg

canna-curate-banner1a.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

SBI Promo Banner PNG.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Sort:  

Waw.... it's so amazing .. Surely you are using the surfboard that you just bought? Are you snowboarding yourself? Nice snow mountain view,
It must be nice to be able to surf in the snow

I did go by myself, and yep I was using my new board! Snowboarding is way fun. It can be hard at first, but once you learn how to do it, it's actually pretty easy.

Love snow summit! Good stuff! 😎

I gotta try get my money's worth on my season pass. lol. I'm going back this week, but I think I'm gonna hit Bear Mountain this time. Try to squeeze one more day in this season.

Congratulations @derekrichardson, your post won 2nd prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64839.49
ETH 3551.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32