My California - Snow Valley

in SoCal Steemit5 months ago


image.png

For this weeks Show Us Your California contest by @socalsteemit I headed up into the San Bernardino mountains for a really fun day of snowboarding at...

Snow Valley!!

SoCal divider.jpg

At the end of last winter Snow Valley became part of the Big Bear Mountain Resorts which also includes Snow Summit and Bear Mountain. I haden't skied/snowboarded at Snow Valley in many years since the season pass I usually get didn't work there... until now! So I had to go and check it out. I actually learned how to ski there when I was a young child, but a lot of the runs there I had never skied so it was really exciting to get to explore some new terrain. So I headed up highway 330 to highway 18 through Running Springs and Arrowbear to the base of the mountain. One nice thing about Snow Valley compared to the other Big Bear resorts is that the drive to get there is actually quite a bit shorter which was nice. I arrived early and was surprised at how few people were there in the parking lot. And not dealing with any crowds was another plus. As soon as they opened the gates I headed over to chair 1, the Snow Valley Express, which provides access to all the runs on the front side. The conditions in the morning were great. Nice smooth groomed snow. Firm, but not icy at all. I started out by taking "The Edge" to "East Bowl", and then to "Little Bowl", and just kept working my way across the mountain with a goal to try to ride every run on the mountain. So I did several runs from chair 1 with the best ones being "West Run", "Surprise Run", and "Big Bowl".


image.png
Snow Valley trail map


image.png
Waiting for the gates to open


image.png
Heading to chair 1


image.png
The San Gorgonio mountains and the Santa Ana river drainage from the top of chair 1


image.png
Riding down "The Edge" on my first run


image.png
The ski patrol hut at the top of chair 1


image.png
Looking at the almost empty slopes


image.png
Views looking west from chair 1 with the San Gabriel mountains in the distance


image.png
Overlooking the base of the mountain from "Race Peak"


image.png
Views from "West Run"

After I had rode all the runs from chair 1 I headed over to the backside. I rode chair 9 a few times, getting off at the mid point to ride "Bobcat Alley" and "Richards". After that I rode chair 9 all the way over to the Slide Peak area where I started riding chair 11 to get to all the runs there. I started on the west side of Slide Peak riding "Nord Valley" and "West Slide" and then went to the east side riding "East Slide", "The Face", "Show Me", and "Snake Run". The latter two were a bit thin and had lots of bushes and small trees poking out through the snow. So I only rode them a couple times, but both "West Slide" and "East Slide" were really nice and I rode them both several times. And with all those done I had achieved my goal of riding every run at Snow Valley! It was a really beautiful day, sunny and warm with a few nice puffy clouds, but as it got into the afternoon the warmer temperatures made the snow start to get wet and sticky which made riding a bit more difficult.


image.png
At the bottom of chair 9 on my way to the backside


image.png
Selfie on chair 9


image.png
Chair 9 mid station


image.png
Slide Peak from chair 9


image.png
At the base of chair 11


image.png
Views from chair 11


image.png
Views west from the top of Slide Peak


image.png
Riding chair 11


image.png
"West Slide"


image.png
Views east from the top of Slide Peak


image.png
Riding down "Snake Run"


image.png
Looking back up "Show Me" with all the little trees and bushes sticking out creating an obstacle course


image.png
"East Slide"

After taking a bunch of runs on Slide Peak I decided to head back down to the base of the mountain for a lunch break at my truck in the parking lot. During my lunch the clouds really started to build up and when I got back from lunch the mountain was almost totally shaded which made visibility a bit more difficult. And after a few runs off chair 1 the poor visibility and increasingly rough snow conditions led to me having a big wipe out near the top of "The Ladder". As I've gotten older recovering from wipe outs has become harder and after this one I decided it should probably be the end of my day. So I made one last run down "Big Bowl" and then called it a day. And despite ending with a big wipe out it was really great day and I'm hoping to get in at least one more ski day before this season comes to an end.


image.png
Catching chair 9 in the reverse direction to get back to the front side for lunch


image.png
Lunch break in the back of my 4Runner


image.png
Getting back out on the now shaded mountain


image.png
Sitting in the snow recovering from the wipe out

And so until next time...

I hope you have enjoyed this glimpse into

My California!!


SnowValleyThanks.jpg

all photos by @derekrichardson

cma new banner yellow.png

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @derekrichardson, your post won 2nd prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Sounds like a great day, minus the wipe out! 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59956.07
ETH 2524.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49