Steemit Engagement Challenge / S13-W3 -"How SEC improved engagements on the Steemit platform?"

in Hindwhale Community10 months ago

Hello friends, welcome to my page as I get you entertained in this third week of the steemit engagement challenge. This is my second entry for the week and I hope to contribute to our reading pleasure.

image.png
Image from Contest

What was Steemit like before the SEC?

I joined Steemit on November 4th, 2020 and it was just immediately after my birthday which also made it remarkable for me as I got to know about this great platform on my birthday and joined less than 24 hours after this notice.

When I joined steemit I could remember that the team was supporting the system through promotional writing. For example, Huobi or Tron would launch a new feature in their App or a protocol to enhance efficiency, this would be thrown open to the platform for users to write and have first-hand user experience with this feature or protocol. While doing this, users are supported accordingly.

The next was the first season of the steemit Cryptoacademy which was a renewed and purposeful growth of the platform as users freely engaged and got supported. I believe that user engagement during this period was low compared to the present. Because virtually everyone who wrote their assignment received support and it was more like a sure deal. However, this certainty was varied as the Cryptoacademy continued to advance in its season.

It now got to a time whereby the user base in the platform was much easier to handle. The team saw that there was need to categorize users according to their knowledge as not everyone could participate. For newbies, the beginner class was created, and the intermediate and advanced classes were also created to capture users of different capacities.

At this point, it was overwhelming for the team as the large number of participants made it difficult to attend. This wasn't sustainable given the number of professors that also dropped. The entire arrangement collapsed and it was dropped. The team in their wisdom needed to keep the platform engaged hence the emergence of the Steemit Engagement Challenge.

Discuss the changes you noticed in Steemit following SEC.

A whole of changes have happened in the platform since the commencement of the Steemit Engagement Challenge. Before now, there was only a community that was in charge of all contest publications which is the cryptoacademy community. This monopolized a majority of activities in the platform and rendered other communities a little redundant especially communities with low upvote strength.

Presently, communities are allowed to run contests for six weeks which brings a lot of traffic and user engagement to the platform. Communities in this way receive enough support from the steemit team with enough diversity in the system.

Though the percentage of users increased during this period this also reduced the number of support received when entries were made.

How many of the seven weekly challenges can you participate in each week?

My engagements both offline and online, limit my chances of maximizing my full potential of making all the seven entries. It happens that I handle an admin role in the steem4nigeria community and also with my offline work, this makes me have lower participation in the SEC.

At present, I make an average of 3 to 4 posts weekly in the ongoing SEC, and at maximum,m I have tried to make 5 posts in a week. But when one considers the quality of posts made and the support received, they may not be encouraging but consistency wins it all.

How does the SEC change your interests and involvement in Steemit?

Before now, all that we do is to learn about cryptocurrency. We make our posts, earn from them, and sometimes learn from them with minimal engagement. The SEC brought about double-edged benefits whereby users now learn about cryptocurrency as well as other general topics with a lot of engagements.

The engagement side of this concept is what differentiates it from the other eras. You can constructively engage on what you don't know or on posts you didn't learn from. It brings about additional learning for everyone.

Conclusion

Steemit Engagement Challenge was well thought out as it brought about diversification of participation and ideas in communities, enhances community growth and engagements amongst users across various communities. Despite the shortfall or limited support from the big accounts on every entry made, it has impacted and played its path.

I invite @ruthjoe, @yakspeace, and @solaymann to join the contest.

Sort:  
 10 months ago 

Yes I think before SEC, steemit was really fun but at a point the fun started reducing but now Sec seem to have rekindled some form of fun.

 10 months ago 

It was fun then as percentage support per user was over 90℅. I hope that fit could be achieved again despite the growing user base.

 10 months ago 

I hope and pray so..

 10 months ago 

👍

Saludos estimado amigo, un estupendo analisis argumental del antes y despues de SEC en nuestra querida plataforma
, donde el objetivo principal es el dinamismo y el compromiso sostenido de los usuarios diversificando contenidos y comunidades, mas fomento de la interaccion entre usuarios. Saludos y Bendiciones éxitos en tu estupenda entrada.

 10 months ago 

Thank you for finding value in my publication. Those were the main points of the platform before and after the SEC

Should I say you just gave a brief history of Steemit before the introduction of the Steemit Engagement Challenge... Oh yes! You just did that.
I must commend you for the way your made good choices of words and the way you Navigate your points....

I must say that writing and receiving support at that time was kinda fun because it was more like a competition, "No assignment, no support lol😀..

The Introduction of SEC to steemit has been great where which is the impact cannot be over-emphasised. Even a new user like me can see the difference if I was shown the before and after" or not.. it has personally increase the content engagement between users and solid interaction foundation.....

I agree with you that consistency wins it all and I'm glad that you try your best to participate in 3-5 challenge weekly. Despite not receiving much support I have also tried to keep the ball rolling...🥲..

Constant learning is one thing the challenge has brought on me as well as everyone and like you also. I learn new things everyday when trying to engage with other users.....

Thanks for sharing and good luck with the challenge....

Happy birthday to you in arias ✌️.....

 10 months ago 

Thank you friend for the great words of encouragement and commendation. It is always nice to get feedback like this as it sends signals of adding value to other users. Your feedback is a great addition to my post. Thanks for engaging...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49