Steemit Engagement Challenge - S13/W5 - 90's vs 2K

Hey Steemian friends!

Oh, this is a much discussed topic in Sri Lanka because we really see a huge difference between these two generations and this is one of the hot debates in social media. As a proud product of the late 80s and the epic 90s, I've got some serious sentiments about this clash of generations. So this must be a fun topic to talk about, let’s get into the questions.

👉 If you lived in both generations, like 90s and 2k which one did you like the most?

Hands down the 90s. I think I shared in many of my blogs that my childhood was spent in my village with my cousin brothers and it was some seriously entertaining years. I feel fortunate to have had such a childhood because nowadays I don’t think kids have such a village or environment we had.

I guess the reason for that was even our parents had a different pace, allowing us to explore, invent, and just be kids. Also without the internet and even smartphones, we tried to allocate our time in the smart ways to keep us entertained.


👉 How is school life now, and what was it like in the nineties?

These days we barely see a kid having time for himself because he would be at tuition class or practice sessions if not in the school. They have this constant sprint with back to back schedules.

Our school life was totally different because I remember the entire evening was free for us till the sun was down. The only competition we had was to find the tree with the juiciest fruits. I don’t know because I had minimum supervision from my parents I had such freedom, and I never had a serious study session after school.

However, I still was the ranked 01 student in my class while I was in the village. Even my cousin brothers became doctors and engineers. Because of this fact, I really believe that a child needs to connect with nature at an early age rather than in the classroom.


👉 Compare 90s entertainment with 2K entertainment.

When it comes to entertainment, hands down, the 2K kids hit the jackpot. Music, movies, and art, the tech upgrades have elevated the entertainment game to a whole new level. While 90’s entertainment was outdoors, 2K kids got everything indoors.


👉 Compare 90's and 2K's games/sports
These are two different aspects. As explained in the previous question we had fun doing all the outdoor activities and they were so good. However, as soon as I found myself on the PlayStation for the first time I didn’t notice the time passing by, I didn’t want to eat or even sleep but to play games. So entertainment wise this gaming era has a different vibe. Even recently I played football in PlayStation VR and that is next level stuff. Once again 2K kids got the better out of this.


👉 Compare the sweets from the 90s and the 2Ks.

I think 90's kids had more organic stuff than sweets. We enjoyed all the fruits after school when we came back home. There were small shops which had all seasonal fruits for very cheap prices. But in the blink of an eye, the scene changed to chips, soft drinks, and convenience snacks. It is pretty obvious all the kids love Sweet and as a kid, I too loved those chips that came with toys and different gifts. However, 90’s kids had the best deal because what we ate was healthier and much sweeter.


Thank you for this interesting contest @hindwhale. Looking forward to taking on the next week’s challenge. I would like to invite @tenguhatanga, @crisvera & @cive40 to participate in this contest.

Thank you.

Peace to all 🙏

All the images have been developed by Midjourney and photoshoped by me.

Sort:  
Loading...

Your comparison of the '90s and 2000s is insightful. Nostalgia shines through your love for the freedom and simplicity of the '90s village life. It's clear how technology reshaped school routines. The evolution of entertainment from outdoor to tech-centric is fascinating. Well-articulated reflections! 👏

It is truly fascinating and I can't imagine what the game world would look like in next 10 years. Who knows, we might not even need to hit the park for a game anymore 😅

 11 months ago 

¡Holaaa amigo!😊

En los 90's las tardes eran sagradas para los niños porque, implicaba que se vería la programación favorita o, los representante solían llevarlos a la plaza, parque o simplemente se reunían con los vecinos de la cuadra para jugar y, eso era lindo porque, la diversión era sana y, había un gran desarrollo psicomotor.

Te deseo mucho éxito en la dinámica, un fuerte abrazo💚

True! but for us we were never in front of the TV and never wanted anyone to take care of us. As we lived in a village we had the maximum freedom to play all the evening. But I can see most of the kid had the experience what you shared. Thanks for the wishes! Hug 💚

Hello friend...
When it comes to entertainment, the 90s was the era of sitcoms, teen dramas, and animated cartoons. Shows like Full House, Saved by the Bell, and The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air were wildly popular. For teens, shows like Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Dawson's Creek, and Felicity were must-see TV. For younger kids, Nickelodeon and Disney Channel ruled the airwaves, with shows like Rugrats, Hey Arnold!, and Doug. By the 2k, reality TV took over, with shows like Survivor and The Bachelor becoming cultural phenomenal.... The sweet treats of the 90s were definitely different from those of the 2k. In the 90s, snack cakes like Twinkies, Ding Dongs, and Sno Balls were all the rage. There was also a strong focus on candy, with classics like Reese's Peanut Butter Cups, M&Ms, and Skittles being popular. The soda choices of the 90s were also iconic, with Dr. Pepper, Mountain Dew, and Pepsi being favorites. In the 2k, health-conscious choices have become more prominent, with many people opting for granola bars and fruit snacks.....In the 90s, a big part of school fun was using your imagination and playing with your friends. Whether it was at recess or after school, you could often find kids playing games like cops and robbers, tag, or kickball. In the 2k, things are a little different. Recess is often structured, with organized activities like soccer or capture the flag. After school, kids are more likely to play video games or watch TV. While there are benefits to both approaches, it's hard not to feel nostalgic for the unstructured fun of the 90s.....

You've really written well .

Thanks for your sharing and good luck with the challenge....

Wow this is a descriptive comparison! Guess what, I still have no idea about most of those shows you mentioned. Maybe all these are popular in America and you must be talking about American kids here. But I see the point and thanks for such detailed comment. You entry is a must to read and I look forward for it.

Hola amigo
Si que hay una diferencia abismal entre una época y otra.
Ahora todo es tecnología los niños no saben lo que era jugar en grupos cualquier juegos tradicionales del país.
Sentarse hablar y reír.
Y con los estudios todo era más compromiso con los institutos ahora todo es demasiado superficial. Al menos en mi país 🇻🇪

Éxito y bendiciones compañero.
Pronto dejaré mi entrada 👍

Same here, friend! Sometimes, I feel a bit sorry for the kids these days, but truth be told, they're incredibly smart with technology. So, they must be looking at us and thinking, "What a bunch of losers!" 😄

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61282.12
ETH 2375.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55