Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 6/Week 1:What outdoor games did you play that aren't famous globally?

in Hindwhale Community2 years ago (edited)

Kids-Playing-In-Park.jpg

Hi 👋🏿 lovelies, a challenge is here again and as a newbie, I decided to partake in this activity. The truth is, am so glad to be involved in this challenge because this is literally my first time since I joined steemit. I love games a lot and I've played so many outdoor games in my childhood days. Hah!!!😓Those days...Those days when technology wasn't within our reach. How I miss those days. I guess I have to gist you guys.😁
I was brought up in a village called Ntonaboma ,a different kind of world, a world where we had fun in our own way. During those days, kids leave their various homes to meet at the playground and play different kinds of games. How I enjoyed those games back then!!! How beautiful it was when we gathered together to enjoy games that made us interact with friends and neighbors!! Although we had no use of technology, we found a way of making ourselves happy. We had so much fun to the extent that, at times, my parents had to come search for me at the playground and sometimes, they ended up canning me because I developed a habit of abundoning my house chores and skipping errands just to go and play 😂. Frankly speaking, I really enjoyed those days and up till now, these momeries puts a smile on my face☺️
I know you're wondering the kind of games that made me do that....

Few of the games I remember are "piloloo," "alikoto," practical set, and "Zanzama." These games were so simple and interesting. They were mainly made from materials resources found within our environment. These materials include; brooms, sticks, pen tops, stones and battery heads.

HOW ARE THESE GAMES PLAYED AT ALL?

Pilolo_game_08.jpg

1. "PILOLOO"

Let me start with piloloo. It's one of the famous outdoor games in Ghana🇬🇭 and a kid has to devote him or herself to start the game. That particular kid will ask the rest of the kids to go and hide, then, the kid will hurriedly find a place to hide some number of short sticks or short brooms and after he or she hides them, he or she will begin to sing loudly saying;

🗣️Piloloo!!!.... Then the rest of the kids hiding will respond, 3hy3bo) nase (it is under the stone).

Immediately, the kids will come out and start searching for where the sticks or brooms are being hidden. The first person to find it becomes the winner and also the next person to lead. There! You see it's easy and fun😁🥰.

![220px-Pilolo_game_01.jpg]()

2. ALIKOTO

This is the second game on my list, Alikoto😁. The name may sound strange but trust me, it's really interesting. Whenever we all meet at the playground, we go in search of pen tops and battery heads. After gathering all the materials, we then prepare the play material- the alikoto and then we all gather around. Each person will be expected to choose a partner that he or she will be playing with. After choosing your partner, then you and your partner will bend down on the ground facing each other. One of you will start the game by throwing the alikoto so hard and with all the skills and strength you have in playing this game in order to make sure it spins very well. The one whose alikoto spins most after throwing it wins the game😁

1200px-'Alikoto'.jpg

3. PRACTICAL SET

This game was my favorite. It involves two or more people but it's more fun when most people play. It's a hand clapping game where one person will be singing;

Practical... Practical
Practical set, he made a mistake...
With the lower and the upper and the 2, 4 ,6...
If you say 1, you're out...
But if you say 2, you're in... So 2...

So since it is a 2 times multiplication, everyone will say his or her number one after the other, thus from 2 to 4 to 6 to 8 and so on and so fought. When it's get to you and you're not able say the right number, you'll be kicked out of the game, then it's starts all over again. This continues until two people will be left to compete then the one who doesn't make a mistake then becomes the winner 🏆 of the game🥰. This game is so interesting...I tell you!😂

maxresdefault (3).jpg

4. ZANZAMA

Zanzama is a serious game....oh yes!...it is. It takes people who are brave to partake in this game. With this one, persons involved strikes a bet that, if any of them sits down and forgets or refuses to say Zanzama before or immediately after sitting down, then the other person who is quick to notice that mistake will give the victim a heavy knock... yes! You heard it right! A heavy knock🤯🤕😵😂. Most children tends to cry when they get involved in this game yet still, we loved it so much. Zanzama is a real deal game, but it made us happy certainly because you get to see the kinds of energies that people invest just to give a knock and also the kind of facial expressions that these victims exhibits😖😂. Aaaw those times...

zanzama-e1625743254834-1024x842.jpg

Even though, we had fun from other games like "ampe," "oware," "kite racing," and etc, these are the few games I can talk of. To be more sincere, these games helped us to learn how to socialize and make more friends. It also broadened our way of thinking and solving problems. Taking the practical set for instance, children who played that game more often developed the ability of thinking faster even whiles the hands are in use. Concentration becomes the key focus when playing this game. Although these games might seem archaic, it has a huge positive effects on the growth and development of children. As we delight in the advantages that technology give us these days, it is my hope that we rekindle these activities for our children to once again experience the pleasure they give us.

I will like to invite @nyakjaja , @xpifile and @quinnoli to join this amazing steemit challenge and am so sure they never regret it😉.

Thanks for reading my dear... I really appreciate.😘💯❤️🇬🇭🌈

Sort:  

Hi osina, I had fun imagining the different games you explain, in my country, Venezuela, we play one similar to "PILOLOO", but it is called palito mantequillero, a child hides a stick and when he says: "palito mantequillero, whoever finds it first", the others go out to look for it and whoever finds it first, wins.

The other two also look fun, the multiplication one is interesting, very good for school children.

I see that "ZANZAMA" is a game for the brave, I don't think I would have liked to play it, I wouldn't be happy to be hit, or to hit someone else :(

Thanks for sharing with us some of your favorite games. blessings and much success.

Thanks syllem and also glad you like my post... thanks so much 🥰

 2 years ago 

The games you have mentioned here we have never heard of your childhood games and there are many variations of them. So happy to know about all these games. Thank you very much for participating in this contest.

You welcome and thanks as well☺️

 2 years ago (edited)
CategoryRemarkScore
#Club50500
Verified User0
#steemexlusive1
Plagiarism Free1
Bot Free1
Voting CSI > 50/1
Markdown Style0.7/1
Quality Content2/3
Total5.7/10
Feedback / Note
  • You have written a wonderful post, we have also played Zamzam game a lot in our childhood. We used to play this game when the teachers used to come late to the class room.

  • One request that whenever you use any picture in your post, do not forget to give its source location.

  • First Verify your account in Newcomers Community.

  • From my side welcome to this platform
    .

😔😔😔

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.14
ETH 2392.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63