"Steemit Engagement Challenge S13/W4- “What was your favorite subject in high school?"

in Hindwhale Community10 months ago (edited)

Picsart_23-11-06_14-16-36-351.jpg

image was designed with PicsArt app

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

School days was one of my best days as a young person. I learnt so many subjects in school. Among the subjects I took, there were those which was difficult for me and some I excelled on.

Using the contest tips, I am going to talk about my favorite subject in highschool

Tell us how your favorite subject made learning effortless for you.

My favorite subject in school was
mathematics. I loved any subject that involves calculation. My highschool was not straight due to movement from one house to another. I attended both commercial and secondary school. But in all, I loved mathematics a lot.

This is a subject that so many people feared in school. In fact, during my school days, there is this saying that the fear of mathematics is the beginning of wisdom. With this notion many hated the subject. Personally, I do not like subjects that involve so much theories. So Mathematics provided an answer to that. Learning it was easy and effortless since it does not involve reading a lot, but just knowing the formular, understanding the concept, and knowing the ways to apply the questions to the formular.

With this Mathematics became as easy as ABC to me.

image.png

image source</sub

Did you always manage to get good marks in your favorite subject, or did you face any hardship at any particular time?

While others were afraid of mathematics during classes, test and examination periods, I was elated to take it on. I had good marks on it as a subject. In fact I looked towards using it to improve my overall grade in my result because I know that some of the theoretical subjects may not favour me. So I usually cover up with this mathematical subjects.

One time, I had a particular topic that proved difficult to understand, that is Trignometry. I had to make out time to have a one on one teaching from the teacher, that really helped me to overcome and understand that topic.

Are there any other subjects that you like too?

Yes, Like I said earlier, I loved subjects that have a lot of calculation in them.
Subjects like Physics, Chemistry, Accounting, statistics and others were dear to me and I loved them very much, they all involves a lot of calculation.

It will interest you to know that I had distinctions in both my National and Higher National Diploma certificate that I was awarded. And I cleared my high school certificate exam in one seating including all mathematical subjects.

And now is the era of cryptocurrency which also involves calculation. I am truly interested in learning more about it and that is why I take part in steemit crypto academy engagement challenge. I am not doing bad at all there.

Do you help your children or siblings in their favorite subjects?

Yes I do. I help out my children in their favorite subjects. Many times, from the school results, I notice their strengths and weaknesses.

Then I will isolate those subjects that are their strengths, telling them what to do to get more out from it, while I teach and explain the difficult ones to them to help them improve on the subject but my husband teach them more than I do, he also loves mathematics.

Finally, is there any role of your favorite subject in your present-day life?

Certainly there is. Everything we do in life today is calculation. Starting from when we wake up from sleep, we need to calculate our timing, allocate time to our chores, to help us finish on time and be at other engagements in time.

When cooking soup or any other food, we calculate the quantity of salt or pepper the soup requires in other to make it palatable.

While driving too, we calculate to know the pressure we will apply on the accelerator pedal, same is applicable to applying brake.

Before even we step out of the house, we must have scheduled our activities. So you can see that all our activities involves the use of mathematics.

The groundnut that I prepare and sale involves calculation. I calculate the quantity against the price I buy the raw one. I calculate every expenses involved before arriving at the selling price.

IMG_20231018_221229_787.jpg

On steemit here, we need to calculate our club status applying mathematical techniques to know when we are in club5050 or club75.

We also need to calculate how many steem we will earn when we receive upvotes and so on.

So, without doubt, my favorite subject has a bearing on our everyday life

Conclusion

Mathematics is a lovely subject which is applied in everyday life. It is one of the subjects that you cannot fail easily in an examination. This is because each step you write down has its own scoring. The answer have just 1 mark.

Unlike most subjects whose exams are subjective, Mathematics answer is objective and is the same all over the world.

I invite @graceleon @goodybest and @drhira to take part in this contest. Success to you all!

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

This is my introductory post here

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Sort:  
 10 months ago 

It's good to know you loved mathematics as a subject. It's rare when ladies say their best subject is mathematics. it's usually the best for guys. I stopped taking mathematics as my best subject ever since my mathematics teacher was changed. This affected my zeal to go further on this subject as the teacher wasn't this understanding type. I hated the subject because of him but never a time have I failed a mathematics examination because the calculations are just inbuilt in me. I've been hosting tutorials on mathematics but I don't like the subject. I just know it. Thanks for sharing. Wishing you best of luck in this challenge

That is a popular saying and believe and most times it is also a reality that female don't like mathematics. The truth is that I love challenges in life and I go for the hardest. This has helped me to cope with life challenges too when they come. They are no longer new to me. Thank you for your comment

 10 months ago 

Appreciated ma'am

 10 months ago 

Thanks for the support...@muzack1

It is very good to know that mathematics was your best subject, to me it was my worst I wised I could wipe it away from the subject but it keeps coming . Uptill today I can't explain how I made it.

Thank you. It was really my best subject. I can't stop laughing out loud as you can't explain how you made yours. Well, the fear of numbers breeds the fear of mathematics. Learn to love numbers and they will become your friend. Thank you for your comment

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

You've got a free upvote from witness fuli.
Peace & Love!

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Hello friend, mathematics is a big headache for some, but for others it is the beginning of learning and obtaining a lot of knowledge during high school and it will be of great help for university.

Excellent friend of being an active student and about. Be attentive to any questions you may have. I could present and not be afraid of numbers.

Other topics that are closely related to it. friend mathematics as is physics, chemistry among others.

Saludos 🇻🇪👍

A lot of students hate mathematics. It was my pride then as both male and female marveled at the fact that I understand it then. Thank you for your comment. It means a lot

Loading...

Mathematics has always given me an edge in my field. Just as you said, it provides an objective view on things, numbers do not lie. It is actually one of the key requirement these days to enter into any college. I excelled particular in this field as well because I didn't have to memorize a lot of theoretical concept, I only had to apply the basic mathematical principles and I would arrive at an answer. Mathematics provides multiple ways to arrive at the correct answer.

One thing that makes mathematics very easy to pass in exams is that, even if your final answer is wrong but the steps you followed is correct, you will be awarded some marks according to the steps. I love this part so much. Mathematics is a sweet subject to me and very easy to pass in exams compared to other courses

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60343.62
ETH 2490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53