Food Diary Game -Week-10 by @mbetobong (4/07/2024)

in Hindwhale Communitylast month (edited)
Cooking Atama soup

Hello beautiful and astounding steemian across the globe 🌍 Greetings to you all.I hope you are getting better❤️My regards to the organizer of this contest in the place of @jyoti-thelight I remain @mbetobongluke and I'm super excited to participate in this amazing Community Hindwhale
Once again thankyou @jyoti-thelight for making this food diary game open for us all.

Walk with me let me show you how to prepare ATAMA SOUP.

With the high cost of things in my country especially foodstuffs. The money I would have used to eat in a restaurant, I will rather convert it into cooking.
I am not saying you shouldn't eat in restaurant 🤣😂
I can't just stop eating because it will save me from some expenses.

Today I decided on cooking one of Nigeria's popular soup called ATAMA SOUP.
Atama soup or is also called Banga Soup in pidgin English(Nigerian English) It is a kind of palm-fruit vegetable soup that originates from the Efik people of Cross River state, Urhobo and Isoko people of Delta State in South South Nigeria. So here you get the origin of the soup.

I didn't plan to do this today, but my atam leafs that I bought last week will get spoiled if I prolonged or not use it soon. I was occupied in the morning, so this afternoon, I have to cook it even though I was not fully prepare for it.
But as I make a step, I start enjoying the process.
My neighbor help me slides the leafs. Why heading to the market to get the ingredients needed for the soup.
This preparation took place in the afternoon.
Atama leaf will required you to cut it into pieces and squeeze it with your head to further break it down into pounding form. You have to squeeze it like if you want to make a herbal concoction. My neighbor help me do that part. Because I don't have to over stress myself.

Going to the market, this are the items I bought
Crayfish
Maggi
Icefish
Smoke fish
Palm fruit
Kpomo
Stockfish
Snail
Meat
Atama leaf 🌿
Periwinkle
Melon and
Onion

These are the ingredients needed to prepare the soup.
Sometimes, man can also take responsibility by being the chef. All this, I learn from my beloved mother.
Being a student, they are certain things that you will not have, so I have to ask my neighbor to help me with is mortal and pistol. As a student with neighbors around who expect quite environment, but hey 👋 I broke silence with my mortal and pestel 🔫 🤣🤣 anyway, we understand ourselves. The mortal and pestel is the machine that will get the work done though it requires effort in pounding the palm fruit. This is the only way that can make the food enjoyable.

IMG_20240704_133741_646.jpg

After pounding the palm fruit, I then use shifter to shift the oil and put it inside the pot. Here you don't have to get another red oil as the palm fruit will replace the oil.

IMG_20240704_140641_987.jpgIMG_20240704_140108_969.jpg
IMG_20240704_133726_845.jpgIMG_20240704_135636_406.jpg

After that, I then steam the meat. In the process of steaming, I put Maggi, pepper, salt, and Onion and get started. Seen I have put some ingredients, I will be very careful in other not to make the food over spicy when adding other ingredients.After steaming, I start putting the necessary ingredients and then put the oil i extracted from the palm fruit I cover the pot for 5 minutes to further stabilized the food. After that, I then add my graded melon and cover it again for 3 minutes to balances everything.

Atama always come last after everything is almost done. Lastly, I sprinkled the ATAMA leaf and cover it for 3 minutes before taking it off my gas cylinder.
Hey, food is ready.

IMG_20240704_153329_908.jpgIMG_20240704_153321_821.jpg
Nutritious benefits of ATAMA SOUP/BANGA SOUP

Atama leaves are rich in vitamins A, C, and E, which are very important for maintaining healthy skin, supporting immune function, and protecting against oxidative stress.
They are also a good source of calcium and iron, which are important for maintaining strong bones and preventing anemia.

In addition to their nutritional benefits ,they are also a good source of calcium and iron, which are important for maintaining strong bones and preventing anemia so you have to take it at least twice in a month.

In addition to their nutritional benefits, Atama leaves are also known for their medicinal properties. They have been used in traditional medicine to promote healthy digestion, support respiratory health, and even boost libido. I know you will like this part.
If you are a Nigerian, you can't do away from this nutritious meal.

Sometime we don't have to rely on restaurants as things are getting tougher day by day. This is how everything went by. Sincere thanks to everyone for finding this food interesting. You can try this yourself. Trust me, it will be of great benefit to you and most importantly, your health.

IMG_20240704_151909_514_1.jpg

I will love to invite @drhira @mariami and @zekanem to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...
 last month 

Hi @mbetobongluke,
Your Twitter promotion is not proper. Please add the mandatory $steem tag in your promotion. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.59
ETH 2721.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43