The Dairy Game 13/06/24 || Another eventful day at work, tending for the flocks, clearing the farm surroundings and planting pumpkins.

in Hindwhale Community2 months ago
1000077833.jpg

It's was a bright and beautiful day as usual but then it spells so much work for me. I jumped into the business of the day as soon as I got to work on this fateful day. I started first with my routine of getting forage for my goats. This is always gotten in the bush as there is this particular one we have trained our goats to feed on.

1000077810.jpg
The forage for the goats

Well not all goat eat this kinda leaves, but then we had to train ours to and the reason is not far fetched. The cost of getting cassava peels which is one of their favourite is on the high side. A bag is now sold for about N8000 in this part of Nigeria which is about 23 steem.

We can't actually afford spending on cassava peel every week because they are many. What we do is we get this bag of cassava and spread it use for about three week giving the goat as snack and supplements for the forage they feed on including edibles like water melon peel and the like. The forage which is the major meal is highly nutritious a plant and just as you can see below, they love it.

1000077811.jpg1000077815.jpg
Goats feeding on the leaves gotten for them

After satisfying my livestock with their breakfast, I proceeded to the next task for the day, which I've procrastinated for quite sometimes and that is clearing and weeding of the farm environment. Well, we are now in the raining season and as you know plants grow well when there is supply of water especially in the soil. So do weeds. They grow without control now.

I decided to clear the surroundings pending the time we get our chemical to fumigate the whole surrounding. I really do not like it when grasses gradually invade our space and make the whole place bushy, people would see us as irresponsible.

1000077821.jpg1000077820.jpg
1000077844.jpg
Clearing and weeding of the farm surroundings

I had to take a short rest after this exercise, of course it's an exercise because the whole body was engaged. The next line of action was to visit the bush behind the farm to get the flock their lunch/dinner which I did after the rest. Well I spent almost an hour sorting that because it has to be enough to fix them for the rest of the day. It's quite a tasking activity.

Later in the evening, I decided to carry out some planting activity... my boss brought some pumpkin seed to the farm and asked that it's planted properly in the soil so we can have the leaves for food when it mature. We planted some the previous year but we didn't take good care of it so it died in the long run.

Now the plan is to carefully monitor the growth of this ones and nurture it to maturity. I raised some stalkers around the areas where it's planted so it can comfortably grow around it

1000077822.jpg1000077823.jpg
1000077824.jpg
The pumpkin successfully planted and stalked

I planted six seeds altogether, they already have some leaves just as seen. This activity lasted for about 30 - 45mins before I left it for other minor task around the farm. I left the farm around few minutes to 8pm, because I had to wait to finish what I was preparing and also had dinner before heading home.

...And here is the diary of a Farm boy who is learning the ropes. I trust you had a good time going through my diary, thanks for your time. Gracias!


Regards
@lhorgic❤️


Sort:  
 2 months ago 

Hi @lhorgic, Thank you for promoting your post on X. You missed a tag #steem there. kindly use this tag with those tags. It is a mandatory tag. Thank you.

Loading...

You mean people sell cassava peel? This is my first time of hearing it. Wow visually everything is money now no wonder things are costly. Kudos bro your day was stressful.

Ah! It big money here o o... Is it free over there? Chai! I wish I live in Uyo o, na to feed my goat belleful everyday o o o

I have known it to be free. Well, maybe it has changed.

Nice written diary I really love reading it...

Thank for your comment friend...am glad you enjoyed my content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49