Steemit Engagement Challenge / S16/W4 - "Children Vs Extracurricular Activities

in Hindwhale Community6 months ago
photo-1606092195730-5d7b9af1efc5.jpeg
unsplash

Hello friends, I trust you're keeping well, welcome to my blog. I deemed it fit to hop in on this contest in the hope that I would be able to share my two cents about the topic. The topic is such a well thought out one and I must commend this community for it.

That's said, Let's get into the bussiness of the day without mincing words. I just hope you find my entry Interesting. Enjoy the ride.


How can extracurricular activities help children's physical and mental growth?


Extracurricular activities have their own benefit. I believe if it were not relevant it won't be added even to the program of every well meaning school. The phyical and mental development of kids is key. There is this common saying am sure we are all familiar with... All work and no play makes jack a dull boy

What this statement means is that there is a need for balance when it comes to learning in school and side attraction like extracurricular activities. Helping children engage in these activities such as singing, dancing, drawing and all manner of make these kids active and lively.

photo-1517164850305-99a3e65bb47e.jpeg
unsplash

Extracurrilar activities is a form of relaxation for kids, sometimes a very skilled and trained teacher can use these activities to drive home the lessons he has been finding hard to make them understand.
In a nutshell the need for extracurricular activities cannot be overemphasized. The children need it for their physical and mental growth.

Do today's children like extracurricular activities, or are they forced to participate by their parents?

I think it's natural for children to want to unwind and have a good time. More reason why they look forward to break session in school even after enjoying the lessons being taught in class. There is just this void in them which only fun gotten from extracurricular activities can fill up.

photo-1519340241574-2cec6aef0c01.jpeg
unsplash

So...I would say they ain't being forced...in fact what actually happens is the inverse of of the question because parent are actually the one who get fed up of their children dedicating too much of their time in these activities which the kids have so fallen in love with.

Parents just need to understand that their children need to engage in some of these activities for their sanity. If not they might end up being exactly what that common saying says....being a full child.


Is extracurricular activity necessary for children?


The word necessary sounds to me like an understatement, I think it's more than necessary for children. Permit me to say it's important for the growth and development of children.

Have you seen kid who looks sad for no reason while in class learning and then all of a sudden he is given an opportunity to participate in some extracurricular activities like games and sport and then everything about him lits up?

photo-1460788150444-d9dc07fa9dba.jpeg
unsplash

These are kids for you. You take them on a long teaching hour and end up making them bored and lose their attention because they would definitely get bored in the process and then nothing will add up, up there. So I think whoever brought extracurricular activities into the system was very thoughtful and meticulous as it has proven to work like magic.


Which are the best extracurricular activities for today's children?


Will I be able to pin point which and which extracurricular activities stand out as the best? I guess no. What I think should be used in determining the best is to have the goal we want to achieve at the back of our mind and fashion their activities along that line.

photo-1561489396-888724a1543d.jpeg
unsplash

For example when you discover that the kids are nervous and not outspoken, you could introduce public speaking or debate* to them where they get to learn how to face a crowd and talk. I believe you now see the point am trying to make.

The best is always determined by what we are trying to achieve in the life's of the children. This informs the kind of exteacurricular actvities that would be introduce. Nevertheless, you could also introduce some random activities to them such as running, dancing, painting, drawing and the likes.


Conclusion

The need for extracurricular activities for children's mental health and development is key. Nothing makes these kid more lively and active like extracurricular activities. It is in some of these activities that we truly unravel the true potential of these kid as we get to see them in a new fashion.

I hope I've been able to contribute meaningfully to the subject matter. Thanks for coming this far with me. I trust you enjoyed the ride. Let me invite my friends @ruthjoe, @waqarahmadshah @josepha. Gracias!


Regards
@lhorgic♥️


Sort:  
Loading...

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

This is very sound
The development of a child is dependent on how well we expose them to Extracurricular activities and i honestly feel parents should take it more seriously than they do.
Not just in school during sport days but also at home

You're very right with your points, my dear friend, I hope you participated too. I will love to read more of your thought along this line.

 6 months ago 

I really enjoyed reading your post - it's such an important topic and you raised a lot of great points. Clearly, extracurriculars are so vital for allowing kids to flourish in spirit as well as mind. Thanks for the invitation but I have already participated. I wish you much success in this contest, my friend. 😊

Thanks for making this beautiful comment my friend, am glad we are on the same page. I have no doubt that you've on justice to the topic as well. Weldone my friend.

I love the fact you say that teachers who are finding it difficult to communicate to the children could use the extracurricular period to pass on her teachings and I know that what ever the kids learn during the activity time, steaks to their brain because of the pattern which it was taught.

I don't believe in forcing the children, I believe in allowing them make their choice. You have written so well Sir and I enjoyed your entry. Success to you!

Thank you so much boss lady, am glad you could relate with most of the points stated in this entry. Thanks for the engagement.

Encouraging a diverse range of interests ensures a well-rounded experience for kids. Great entry!

Your post provides insightful perspectives on the importance of extracurricular activities for children's physical and mental growth. It's evident that such activities contribute significantly to their development and overall well-being. Your thorough analysis and engaging writing style make for a compelling read. Keep up the great work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60231.53
ETH 2321.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51