Steemit Engagement Challenge S11/W6 - “Most Popular Game of My Country; Football"


image.png


Without sports or games, life will not be so interesting as all we would have to do is work and relax with little or no recreation to keep the body and mind going. This week's issue of the challenge is something of real interest and i hope you see my view as I share it with you....



Describe what sports/game is popular most in your country.

In my home country Nigeria, Football is the most popular sport. There is hardly a community or town no matter how small that does not have a designated field where people of all ages (even middle aged office men) come together to play atleast once or twice a week. When I was a kid, my Dad warned myself and my brothers not to play football but then, we just had to because it was the way of life amongst kids in my environs. Then when we were done we would quickly clean up before he arrived...I do miss those days.





Is that game played in international competitions like the Olympics or other world championships?

Yes, time and gain the Nigerian team has proven to be resilient and has not only played in but have won the Olympic gold medal in 1996.

image.png

The participation in international games are quite impressive despite the state of the country. When this Olympic medal was won, the country was under a military regime and many things were out of place but still the players were headstrong and made the nation bond in celebration. And I guess that is what makes football the favorite; you need to work as a team before you can achieve anything.





Do you consider that your players are world-class? If yes, name a few of them.

Yes, growing up, my Uncle used to tell how most of the players we watched played for the national team were widely sort after and I found it to be true. They have over time proven to be effective in their various clubs, Some of those I remember from the top of my head are; Sunday Oliseh, Taribo West, Stephen Keshi, Vincent Enyeama, Austine Jay-Jay Okocha, Kanu Nwankwo, Mikel Obi, Peter Osaze Odemwingie, Obafemi Martins etc...
What I love most about these players is that they give their best on the field ad that tells a lot about their personality.

image.png





Is your country's favorite game and your country's national game the same or different?

Yes, my country's favorite and National game are the same. In my country there is no other sport that bring people of different ethnic groups (my country has well over 250 ethnic groups) together like the game of football. You can even tell from the names listed above the diversity and that is the beauty of the sport.



To conclude this post, I would like to invite @valchiz, @kiwiscanfly and @ceec-nk to come participate.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.11
ETH 2323.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34