Immunization program on prevention of malaria

in Hindwhale Community26 days ago

Hello Steemians, I believe everyone is fine.

This is @echuku from Nigeria

Today is the 27th of June, 2924 I participated in an immunization program.

IMG_20240627_141003_705.jpg

Immunization Type is Seasonal Malaria Chemoprevention SMC

This type of immunization is for the prevention of malaria in children less than five years old, this program started in Nigeria in 2021 and the drugs are administered for five months every year that is to say that this year it started in June and will end in November 2024.

IMG_20240627_145406_366.jpg

The drugs are given to prevent malaria in children of the targeted age (0-59 months) given after 28 days. the reason why the program usually takes place from June to October is that during raining season, there is humidity and this weather speeds up the mosquito's metabolism and reproductive possess which makes the population of mosquitoes multiply faster.

IMG_20240627_140713_587.jpg

we all know that malaria is a disease caused by the bites of infected mosquitoes.

How the program went today
In the morning by 6:00 am, I went to the Secretariat where our supervisors normally share the drugs for us to take to the field.

After I collected the drugs, I went to my today's settlement and started the work properly.

The processes of administrating the drugs
The program is a house-to-house program, when I reach a house, I usually start by greeting the people of the house, and the next thing I will ask for the eligible children who are less than five years of age. In a case where there is an eligible child or children, I will open the sachets and give the child today's drugs, and the remaining two days' drugs I will give to the parent of the child to give to the child the remaining days. The essence of giving the children the first dose of the drugs by myself is to teach the parents or the caretakers how they will give the remaining doses also I want to be sure that the first dose is being taken and after administrating the drugs, I will issue a child SMC card and fill the necessary data, I will also mark a cycle that indicates that the first dose is being given and the child took it, I will also show the mother of the child how I cycle marked the card so that when she can give the remain two doses and she can also mark to indicate that she gave the remaining doses to the child.

IMG_20240627_140829_616.jpg

After I finished administrating the drugs successfully, I also went out of the house and wrote on the world the house marking the number of eligible children and the number of children absent.

In a case where I enter a house and there is no eligible child, I will also go outside the house and write the house marking indicating that there is no eligible child in the house.

The essence of the house marking is to always guide me on the number of children in the house when next I come for another round. The house marking also guides the supervisors when they come to supervise my work.

IMG_20240627_121037_996.jpg

I am so happy because at today's work was able to enter a house that happens to be one of our Steemian family's sister's house @vickyson but unfortunately, her child went to school. However, other teams are being sent to the school to give the drugs to the children. So I stayed with her for some time, we interacted a lot and we even took pictures together

At the end of my today's work, I went to the secretariat and submitted my today's report

This was how I did today's work and I will continue tomorrow till the end of the exercise.

I appreciate the time that you have dedicated to reading my post and I will never take your kindness for granted. Thank you and I love❤ you all.

Sort:  
 26 days ago 

We are grateful for this because the government has been trying its best to help children around the world, thanks dear it has been a long time since we met. I wish you the best.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67002.47
ETH 3459.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65