Steemit Engagement Challenge S13W4- “What was your favorite subject in high school?"

in Hindwhale Community8 months ago
INTRODUCTION

1699711710344.jpg
Created in canva

My quest for education has brought me in contact with different categories of educationists who have contributed immensely to the development of my person for which I remain indebted.

Going down memory lane of my high school days is always a time of sober reflection.
During my junior high school days, our curriculum was very broad, we studied different school subjects like Mathematics, English language, Business Studies, Computer science, Social studies, Physical and Health Education, Christian Religious Knowledge, Home Economics and so on.

Also in my senior high school days, we were taking all the science, commercial and arts subjects but at a point in our senior secondary II (SS2), we were permitted to choose an area to go in for based on subjects we were good in. I decided to go for science because of the course I wanted to undertake in the tertiary institution.
The subject many students shy away from became my favourite, I guess you know the subject. It is Mathematics!!.

1699710266389.jpg
Source

I developed more interest in this subject as a result of my teachers, and the motivation I received from my elder sister who was doing extremely well in this subject, she was representing her school in mathematics competitions, bringing home different kinds of prizes.

In my primary school days before getting into high school, Mathematics was always the first lesson to be taught and this was done daily with a series of class brainstorming exercises and homework.

I was given the right foundation for the subject and it is one of the subjects that helps to build my reasoning abilities.

Tell us how your favorite subject made learning effortless for you.

Mathematics has made learning in my tertiary education less challenging.
In my 100L we did Calculus, a course which was quite brainstorming, many of my coursemates did not find that course palatable but I did well as a result of the resilience I have built with time in the world of mathematics.
In my course of study, Chemistry education, the knowledge of mathematics cannot be underestimated when carrying out analysis and many analytical calculations and a lot more.

Did you always manage to get good marks in your favorite subject, or did you face any hardship at any particular time?

I did extremely well in mathematics continuous assessments and terminal and promotional examinations.
I was above average.

Do you think there weren't challenging times!!, there were.
Most times I needed to stay awake to crack some hard nuts in mathematical problems.
There were some topics I needed to do some extra work to understand the concept. I could remember meeting my classmates on different occasions to explain a concept on surd and binomial expansion and I was excited when I finally understood the concept.

Are there any other subjects that you like too?

Well, Mathematics was not the only subject I gave priority to.
Physics was another subject that captured my attention because all one needs is to know which formula to apply and most times you get a hint about the formula by proper interpretation of the question based on the unit of the parameters you are dealing with.
It was always fun deriving different formulas to solve a particular question.

Do you help your children or siblings in their favorite subjects?

1699715968945.jpg
Source

I was always available to render any needed
assistance to any of my siblings in any area of their studies. The youngest of my siblings who is still in high school also likes mathematics ( what a coincidence,...right?) and any mathematical concepts that seem uneasy for him are always shared. In my experience, we have dealt with many such problems.

Finally, is there any role of your favorite subject in your present-day life?

Mathematics has as well help me in the development of my planning abilities and the management of my limited resources as an undergraduate, quite funny...right?
It has also made me put smiles on people's faces by assisting them with their mathematics project work.
It has also fetched me some funds by running mathematics tutoring classes for students.
Mathematics: my favourite subject, what's yours?

I invite my friend @nsijoro @bossj23 @basil20 to participate in this contest.
Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Thanks for upvoting my post.
I will continue to contribute to the strengthening of steem.

Loading...

Saludos estimado amigo, ciertamente es una materia que mucho les huyen, pero indiscutiblemente la ciencia es una materia muy hermosa y presente en muchos ambitos de nuestras vidas. Saludos y éxitos en tu entrada.

Well, I don't think there's any subject or discipline that is difficult. we just need to spend quality time on it and working hard.
Thank you dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44