"Steemit Engagement Challenge S13/W4- “What was your favorite subject in high school?"

in Hindwhale Community10 months ago
I am here to participate in Steemit Engagement Challenge S13W4- by the @hindwhale community as I fully understand that everyone has a liking for a particular subject. Would you believe that even during my high school days I had no interest in mainstream studies but my my interest and favorite subject was sports, fun, and games?

  
On this note, I would like to invite my friends, @ridwant, @ripon0630, @paholags, and @waqarahmadshah to take part in this contest.


Untitled.jpg
Source edited in MSP

Tell us how your favorite subject made learning effortless for you

My favorite subject was sports, fun, and games, or, if you write in subject terms, physical education, and it was not at all effortless for me. Actually, I wanted to learn how to play different sports in my childhood, with cricket and badminton at the top of my preferred games. And yes, exercising and swimming also made me happy. So, everything I learned about sports, I learned the hard way.

Let me accept that I was not a natural athlete, and my parents didn't like that I involved myself in sports. I was the one who wanted to join all the teams, and with enough other activities, I wanted to fit in all of them. Let me accept that I was not bad at studying, but I wanted to do without them. If you insist on asking me about study material or subjects, I was good at maths and painting.

I wanted to excel in sports, but no one asked me why I wasn't interested in studying. I guess if my parents knew my real interest, they might be able to help me address my deeper concerns or know why I wanted to go into something else. But unlike today, when all parents want their children to join sports, the scenario was altogether different in my school days.

How I wish I was born a couple of decades later so that I could fulfill my hobby of sports and games. But that doesn't mean, I had no interest in studies. I was okay with a couple of other subjects and math, especially algebra was one of them.

Did you always manage to get good marks in your favorite subject, or did you face any hardship at any particular time?

As I said, my favorite subject was my alternative subject, and I was made to study the subjects which I liked least, so I always faced hardships, although they were not tough to learn. As I said, math was my second favorite subject, and I grabbed it with a little guidance from my teachers. I remember I once solved one theorem in a different way, and my math teacher asked me what other books I was reading at home.

Actually, I was using two models to help me identify the problems in a methodical way, which made it easier to solve mathematical problems. One is to read them as they teach in a theoretical way, and the other is to relate and remember them in your own way. The result is that even if you forget something theoretically, you will recall the solution if you have something personal to relate to it. Yes, I always managed good marks in math, but for me, chemistry was the worst.

Are there any other subjects that you like too?

Sure, as I said, I like physical training and sports, which were part of our curriculum, and if you ask me about my third choice, it was the English language I liked, although literature was not my favorite even if it was part of the subject.

So now I must admit that you can consider my second favorite subject mathematics because I think it was as great fun as solving puzzles. I used to enjoy figuring out the problems when I was solving equations, especially in algebra. I was kind of excited when I saw a problem.

Do you help your children or siblings in their favorite subjects?

Yes, I helped my daughter during her high school days, although she was better than me in her higher secondary (10+), but she always came to me if I was home for assistance during her school days, and later when she was giving tuition to the higher secondary school for her pocket money. But otherwise, she didn't need my help because she obtained higher marks in math and science throughout her school and college days.

Finally, is there any role of your favorite subject in your present-day life?

Yes, that's true. As a marketing professional and project manager of various engineering projects, I couldn't even imagine working without a proper knowledge of math.

But let me share a secret with you that my sports practice has also helped me a lot during both my jobs, either on a project or in the field because it kept me physically fit and I could work long hours without getting tired. But I always feel math is useful because it helps me in my everyday life, and for sure, it helps me in my professional career.

banana-leaf-910810_960_720.jpg

I hope you know me better now and despite all my professional achievements you know that I am a sports lover by heart.


Author.png

Sort:  

Okay, physical science was not my favorite subject.
In fact, it was the one period that I found excuses not to go to class. I also felt that I want to learn and not play, and that I have so many sports I participate in after school that there is no need for it during school.
It was only later in years that I discovered the value those periods added to my life.

Good luck with the contest!

 9 months ago 

In my case, physical science was not in the classrooms but always in the playground. They took different groups to the different sports but the main thing was PT which sure bored us all and more so if it was too sunny. Thanks for your kind visit and support.

Pleasure!☕

 10 months ago 

This is beautiful my friend... I also loved algebra in mathematics, however physical education is wonderful and I enjoyed goin through your article.. I had my eyes glued to every bit of it. Mathematics really has helped you as a project manager.. indeed early education is the bedrock of success.

I loved physically education too. I always looked forward to that 30minutes excercise we had every now and then. It’s was more or less relieving to know that play time is close. I practically time it myslelf and can wait for the bell to go of.

All school work and no play makes one dull. I saw sports time as play time and relished every bit of it especially long jump and high jump.Great article. Warm regards

The thought of being born decades later just made me laugh. It's fine that your favorite subject back then is helping you keep fit in your area of specialty.

I was quite lazy when it came to participating in sports. I just felt like it was not a good place to direct my energy although these days I go to the gym alert and I'm enjoying the health benefits of staying fit

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 10 months ago 

¡Holaaa amigo!😊

En mi top 5 de materias favoritas, Deportes está incluida jajajajajaja y es que, esta asignatura nos enseña mucho la importancia de estar en movimiento y por supuesto, como indicas en tu participación, también es muy divertida acotando que, era la excusa perfecta para ver clases en un lugar fuera del aula de clases jajajaja.

Te deseo mucho éxito en la dinámica, un fuerte abrazo💚

 10 months ago 

Thank you so much, yes I was interested and wanted to make my career in games but that was not to be so I am still working as a corporate worker instead of a free bird roaming in the sky.

TEAM 5

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted through steemcurator08. Good post here should be..

Screenshot_20231101_062609_Picsart.jpg

Curated by : @waterjoe
 10 months ago 

Thank you so much @waterjoe, I appreciate your encouragement.

 10 months ago 

Your passion for sports and games must have made high school way more fun than the rest of us had it.

Yes, I always managed good marks in math, but for me, chemistry was the worst.

I feel you there; chemistry can be a real "volatile" subject. 😂

 10 months ago 

I can say that was one of the reasons I never missed my school! I was part of the school cricket team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49