Steemit Engagement Challenge S13/W4- “What was your favorite subject in high school?"

in Hindwhale Community10 months ago

PXL_20231023_122438005.jpg
picture of my coursemates and I in the chemistry laboratory

Mix or dissolve 2,4 Dinitro Phenylhydrazine in concentrated H2SO4 to obtain the 2,4-dinitro phenyl hydrazine reagent, we would be told. React, heat, dissolve, cool, weigh, filter and test etc are popular words in the word Chemistry of life which has made us test and react elements and compounds to obtain products that are useful to daily living.

I have been reacting and obtaining products for over 6 years now and I derive joy in experimenting compounds and elements to see the outcome of these reactions. We spent our entire life in the laboratory mixing substances. My love for this brings about my best subject Chemistry.

Tell us how your favorite subject made learning effortless for you.

My favourite subject as mentioned earlier is Chemistry, a course many dread but love by some. Chemistry as a subject is very broad more than any other science subjects as it involves the study of elements and reactions which is grouped as Matter. I've been taught this subject in secondary school as a science subject. At first, I didn't develop a liking for this subject as it was looking strange not until the changed the teacher to a man who was able to help us instill this love for chemistry.

PXL_20231106_112624476.PORTRAIT.jpg
picture of me me holding a product of chemistry subject

He taught us strategies on how to understand chemistry and know it in our fingertips by first teaching us the basics and the periodic table which is the fundamentals of chemistry. The laboratory practicals on a weekly basis and the presentations carried out individually made learning easy and effortless as the case may be. All these factors made me develop a liking for the subject and made it my favourite as chemistry is life. Without the hydrogen and oxygen which are elements in chemistry, they'll be no life on earth. So its applications are vast.

Did you always manage to get good marks in your favorite subject, or did you face any hardship at any particular time?

I've never for once found it hard to pass this subject because of the approach or method of teaching used by the teacher of the subject. Asides teaching, the teacher focused on encouraging us to study after each chemistry class and he told us practical ways on how to study which made learning easy. He also monetised his class by giving rewards to people who answer his questions in class and then disciplining us when necessary. This made me strive to study the course no matter what it takes. The result? I've never failed or perform poorly in any chemistry course I write as I have it in my blood streams. This picture shows one of my results in chemistry subject or course

Screenshot_2023-11-08-18-55-42-948_com.whatsapp.w4b-edit.jpg

Are there any other subjects that you like too?

Asides chemistry, I love subjects that are practical like physics, Home Economics, Biology and Mathematics. I've always performed greatly in these subjects and I so much appreciate the practicals involved. It helps increase learning. The physics subject have helped me learn lot of things including measurements, time and distance which also applies to real life. One of such is transportation. Out of the aforementioned, I appreciate the subject mathematics and have been hosting tutorial classes on the course in tertiary institution. My ability to teach this subject to the understanding of my students shows I have in-depth knowledge of the subject although I hate the subject. I only know and practice it.

Do you help your children or siblings in their favorite subjects?

Yes, I have siblings that are still learning these subjects. Anything involving mathematics and all science subjects Is always presented before me. I don't solve the problems they bring for me but show them how to solve these problems. This will make them better equipped when other problems involving the subject is brought up and they'll be able to face any examination questions the examiner sets for them. I've been a source of great help to them that the need of lesson teacher in these science subjects is overlooked.

PXL_20231027_122947077.PORTRAIT (3).jpg

Finally, is there any role of your favorite subject in your present-day life?

Yes like I said earlier, chemistry forms part of life. Without chemistry, they'll be no food, water and the air we breathe. Don't you know hydrogen and oxygen reacts to produce water which sustains humans today? So without chemistry, we won't have water or life on earth. This should make us appreciate it even more.

  • The drugs we consume today are products of chemistry as one element can combine with another to form the paracetamol we have today, taken based on dosage. The picture shows the aspirin I prepared in the laboratory with my coursemates using some compounds, reagents and certain processes to make this solid aspirin we do take in possible.
PXL_20231030_120129573.PORTRAIT.jpgPXL_20231106_104405590.PORTRAIT.jpg
  • The gas, petrol and kerosene we use in our houses are products of chemistry as this involves elements which are mixed to make this fractions of petrolatum possible. So without chemistry, we'll have no improved means of cooking, driving and transportation.

  • The houses we live in are products of chemistry as it involves elements such as the sand, cements, Aluminium and glass used in furnishing the house from start to finish. Our knowledge of these elements and their uses will actually help us know ways it can be applicable.

  • The perfumes, creams, drinks, washing soaps and everything useful to man are products of chemistry. I see no reason why one won't appreciate chemistry as a course or subject to advanced further in it and know it as well.

In summary, chemistry is the source of life on earth. Without chemistry there won't be life on earth as almost everything revolves around it. I see no reason why many withdraw themselves from considering it as their favourite subject. I know teacher and environmental factors affect learning process but with chemistry, it can be catalysed.

I invite @whizzbro4eva, @chukwu10 and @kidi40

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 10 months ago 

Appreciated

I really see your love for Chemistry. Chemistry is all around us from the clothes we wear to the fire we lit and other activities happening around us. This subject was and still my second best subject in school curriculum. Wishing you the best in your entry 👍

 10 months ago 

Appreciated, brother

It's my honour Sir

 10 months ago 

Thanks

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49