"Steemit Engagement Challenge S13W1- “"What obstacles have you faced/facing to fulfill your dream?"

IMG_20231006_182604_931.jpg

Hello my friends, trust that you are doing great. Hope the week is going on as planned. I will be writing on the contest topic of @hindwhale community. The topic is What obstacles have you faced/facing to fulfill your dream?

The topic is quite an interesting one, considering that each one of us have dreams. I had a dream of what I want to be as I grew older. Have I achieved it, what challenges have I faced while aspiring to do so. The contest tips will provide a guide for me as I explore this topic.

Write about a dream of yours that came true/or want to achieve?

I always had the dream of being self reliant. Have the ability to provide for myself and my family without being dependent on anybody or relying on salary. After having seen and felt what it was like for salary earners after retirement while growing up, I did not want to live that kind of life. I preferred doing my own things and controlling my time by myself.

IMG-20220608-WA0007.jpg

What obstacles have you faced/facing to fulfill that dream? How you overcame those obstacles?.

Unfortunately, I have not been able to achieve my dream. From a tender adolescent age, I started carrying and shouldering family responsibilities. Not due to marriage but within my immediate family.

There was no provision(time) for me to develop a skill and use it to my advantage, since pressure was there to assist with the day to day expenses at home.

The funds were not even available to start off anything of my own. So I opted to look for work so as to earn a salary in order to assist in taking care of myself and the home.

There was no means of assistance from anyone, whether to train or to help equip me to actualize my desire. So I learnt to only do what I can and have the ability to accomplish.

Yet that my dream of being self reliant did not materialize.

IMG-20220608-WA0005.jpg

Who encourages you to fulfill your dreams?

I had a senior friend who always gave me wonderful advice. He told me that being on my own from an early age would help to build my future early. He emphasized on that because of his being a victim of such too. He was a salary earner and suddenly he was sacked from the job. So he experienced the trauma firsthand.

Secondly, I read books and learnt that the life of an entrepreneur is more better compared to a salary earner.

Third, I went through the life of some rich men in the world and found out that making it in life was purely due to their Enterpreneurial skills in various sectors of their business concern.

So these encouraged me a lot.

IMG-20220608-WA0006.jpg

What are the top 3 obstacles to not fulfilling one's dreams?

Economic Difficulty : This is one of the major reasons why it is difficult for a person to fulfill his dreams. A child may be bright, intelligent and knowledgeable, but might not have the necessary exposure and guidance needed to take him to a much greater heights.

If a person have a dream, but no financial means to achieve it, then the person is a daydreamer. This is one of the major obstacles that kills dreams.

° Setting unreasonable goals:- Sometimes we set our dreams and aspirations without considering what it takes to achieve that and whether it is even realizable. In the long run,, we may become frustrated for our inability to realize our dream not knowing that the main is from us, setting unreasonable goals for ourself.

° Government fiscal and monetary policies :- From my little experience in life, I have come to see that government policies are a major factor in achieving ones dreams. If one wants to be an entrepreneur, a singular economic policy can quickly reduce the person to nothing. So since there is no stable working economic mechanism where I live, business are just born to fail. About 90% of businesses do not survive its first year and that is a serious cause for concern.

Thank you so much for reading through my writeup. I invite @sahmie, @okere-blessing and @lhorgic to join in this contest.

Best regards
@benton3

Sort:  

Dreams are what fuel our ambitions to succeed, as we all wants to be successful in life. Your dreams of wanting to be self reliant is indeed an incredible dream that I hope you get to achieve some day soon. The obstacles are only there to make achieving the dream even more sweeter. I wish you success in all your endeavors.

Challenges are good to. It helps you develop thick skin and resilience. Really appreciate your time.

True. Without challenges, the journey becomes too easy and unenjoyable.

Loading...

It's good to have you here, I can concur with you being self employed is more better than working for someone where anything can happen. Don't loose hope it's not too late.

Yes we will never lose hope. It is not over until it is over. Thanks.for.foing through.

You are welcome sir.

There are some time the situation when it is more important to do what it necessary and put the dreams for a bit later time. Although sometimes the skills that we receive could be also helpful later on in our life too. Of course, the situation in the country and governmental support is also important to reach your dream. It was interesting to read your post, wishing you good luck with challenge!

You are correct my friend. Sometimes, you take care of pressing needs and attend to the dreams later. Thanks for bring out time to go through.

I picked some useful tips from your write up. Growing up with that much responsibility must have been a whole lot of burden to you. Am glad you could go through that stage of life. Thanks for the invite sir. I wish you the very best.

Thank you @lhorgic for going thru my post. I am happy that you can learn somethings from my article.

I picked some useful tips from your write up. Growing up with that much responsibility must have been a whole lot of burden to you. Am glad you could go through that stage of life. Thanks for the invite sir. I wish you the very best.

 last year 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62755.94
ETH 2446.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66