Review Your Favourite Game Week 12 | Hellblade: Senua's Sacrifice

in Gaming Souls3 years ago (edited)

Screenshot (174).png

Hello everyone, I'm lordhojay. I'm here again on my favourite contest. I haven't been participating recently. I've been very busy with work that I don't have time to play games 😪. Today I'll be reviewing a similar game to little nightmare which is Hellblade.


ABOUT HELLBLADE: SENUA'S SACRIFICE


Hellblade: Senua's Sacrifice employs a variety of techniques to maintain a sense of dread, anxiety, and terror, including camera viewpoint, light, sound, graphics, and combat. There are no frightening monsters, no jump scares, and no other elements of classic horror. Instead, it taps into something even more frightening: human psyche. And it's been a huge hit.


THE PLOT


Screenshot (177).png

Senua, a Celtic warrior suffering from severe psychotic mental illness, returns to her town after a Viking attack. She embarks on a vision quest to rescue her lover's soul after learning that he was sacrificed to Norse gods. She carries his skull wrapped in cloth across Hellblade, steadfast in her mission to negotiate with Hela, the Norse goddess of death.


THE SOUND EFFECT


Screenshot (176).png

Sound is used more creatively in other parts of the game as well. Senua is put through a test where she must grope in the dark for ten minutes. To get to the finish, I had no choice but to rely only on my ears. The echoes of footsteps morphed into something more ominous. There was something else in the darkness with me, as shown by a thick coating of horrible growls. What I was hearing was considerably more disturbing than what I was seeing. The game is a master at evoking a childish terror of what could be lurking in the shadows.


COMBAT


Screenshot (181).png

Hellblade does an excellent job of infusing dread into everyday situations. When I was exploring a new region, even with a sword, I felt insecure. It doesn't help that there isn't even a basic combat instruction, let alone a HUD. In reality, the game simply gives you one prompt: rot advances up Senua's arm with each death. She will truly die when it reaches her skull, and all progress will be gone. It's a terrible and merciless system, and it succeeded in infusing everything I did with a thick, heavy coating of anxiety and uncertainty.


MY VERDICT


Screenshot (182).png

A work of art! A novel tale, excellent visuals, amazing music that always begins at the appropriate time, several fights, and intriguing puzzles. It is strongly advised that you use headphones (without it is just not the same). This is the scariest game I've ever played so far, and it's not only due of the excessive violence, gore, and burning bodies.

Thank you @gamingsouls for organizing this contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61823.88
ETH 2390.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57